First baby steps, mate!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
October 21st 2012
Published: October 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What has been going on the past 5 weeks, which are also the first 5 weeks of my trip to Australia, WA, Perth area.

I flew via Singapore, had a 19 hour lay over. I must say Singapore hasn't impressed me at all. The airport is massive, with really convenient beds for napping. Other companies can learn something about hospitality from Singapore Airlines. I'll post some photo's but I rather fast forward to Australia!

Staying in Fremantle, Freo for 'locals', is a suburb from Perth where the harbour is situated. It has the famous cappuccino strip, with wide range of bars and restaurants. We're right around the corner. The hostel is not really big, what makes it for me, easier a nice place. My first aim was between joining in on little trips from the hostel to arrange everything around finding a job. What means fixing my resume, writing those horrible cover letters and file for an assessment of my degree. Everything goes really slow I can tell you, more then once I found that things didn't make any sense.

Little trips, are running twice a week (which is more a boot camp to be honest), visit wineries in Swan area(YUM), beach volley, surfing and a trip to Lancelin(surfing & sand boarding) and the Pinnacles.

So far the surroundings are beautiful, the weather is mostly nice. We did have some rain and really cold nights(4 degrees). It is really expensive here in Ozzieland and I must say I'm a little surprised by the Australians. It's just a first impression, but I guess I expected for everyone to be beachy and natural; not even close. A lot of girls wear so much make up, fake lashes and hair, high heels and the shortest dresses. We'll see when I get my life on track, as in work and a place to stay, what my findings will be.

I had some frustrations about the different information I've got from official bodies here, they lost my application for tax number, waiting for response from employers where I applied(one makes me really excited so fingers crossed on that one) and not be able to sleep due to some sexual activities in bathroom next to my room. But I'm definitely enjoying my time here! I did find in the meantime a job as a waitress at Vans Cafe in Cottesloe, which is an uptown coffee place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb