Day 28 – Mt Hart, Wandjina NP, Derby


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Derby
May 26th 2018
Published: May 26th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We got away relatively early from Mt Hart and head for the Wandjina NP. Becs and I did the gorge walk which is very good. There are a lot of freshwater crocodiles basking on the sand banks and in the water and you are able to get really close for pictures.



We then headed for Derby.



Ian at the Derby Caravan Park was a bit of a card although Becs felt he was sexist just because he referred to her as my missus and made some comment about whether we wanted the site next to the Swedish backpackers.



After setting up and having a play with the French Bulldog across the way we headed for the Spinifex Hotel and it was rocking. Actually it was just me and Becs, the English barmaid and the 70 year old band members one of whom had an I love Eagles sticker on his Stratocaster (which isn’t promising). The good news was that everytime you bought a beer you got a ticket in the “Chase the Joker” competition so I felt I was a shoe-in for the $1300. I did suggest to the barmaid that if she just let me win then I would post it on Facebook and make sure all my friends came here.



When the draw finally came up some fat bird in black tights who was clearly a mate of the barmaid’s won.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb