A day in the life of a campervanner by Sue(the'roo slayer)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
May 30th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Day in the life of a Campervanner by Roo- Slewer- Sue

Before I start, for those of you who don’t know me well I am a very slow starter in the morning. Usually Tim has gone to work early so I can wake up slowly and quietly.
Well my day starts with the swish and crash of the sliding door of van opening (same as side door of combi) as Tim goes to ablution block. Then he returns with a swish and crash of the door. The kettle is then put on, coffee cups clonked out of the cupboard, coffee stirred and spoon clonked into sink all the while Tim is whistling with happiness. Then the biscuit wrapper is scrunched (we wish we had oumas rusks). All this is happening 50 cms from my ear So.I grit my teeth and wake up with a smile. After a few yoga stretches Im off to ablution block in my pretty little pink pyjamas.The first few days I changed before I put foot out the camper but after noting the array of nightwear making its way across the camp site I realized I looked just fine. Let me here just mention that the ablutions are absolutely spotless.Each person leaves them as they found them.
Then in two ticks we have dismantled the bed and the table which forms part of the base of bed is put back as a table. Everything is folded and put away. The van has a little sweep which Tim normally does. We only have a hand brush so sweeping is done on hands and knees. Then its breakfast which consists of cereal,oats or boiled egg on toast. We have a microwave , gas stove, toaster, kettle etc. We are surviving with 2 plastic plates,2 side plates,2 bowls, 2 knives and forks 2 spoons.We take turns to do washing up-one day on-one day off- works well.
If its washing day I do a quick load in laundry. Australia is a land of signs. I have never seen so many. So there is never a chance of doing wrong thing as a sign will soon let you know how to do things eg “ if you do not take your washing out of machine as soon as it is finished someone else will take it out for you.” So Im there immediately it finishes and then hang it on wash line. This morning while I was at the wash line Tim thought he could hear a voice calling “Beauty where are you”.No ironing is done. Just folded and then worn. For the girls,. I have survived with 3 shorts 4 tops and 1 pair of slops.
Now we are ready to start the day. Some places we walk to our destination but if we are going to drive everything is put away into cupboards so nothing falls down.
Lunch is then had where ever we are. One good thing is having everything in the van with you. Lunch is usually something light eg cheese and biscuits.
Then its back to camp site late afternoon , a quick shower and then we have a sundowner usually under the stars sitting on our camper chairs outside. Tim does most of the cooking at the communal kitchen. They provide a stainless steel top with gas and again these are left clean by the person before you.We were given a tip by season campers in Perth. to use baking paper which you put on to surface and cook on that so you don’t mess the surface so no cleaning needs to be done afterwards. It is here that Tim makes his NBF’s (new best friends ). Much talking gets done either about fishing or he is handing out baking paper to those he has sold his invention to.In the mean time I have rustled up a quick salad or veggies.We have lots of fish, eating prawns, scallops etc.We are loving paellas.
After dinner we either read or watch a dvd on the laptop but by 8.30 we are exhausted and ready to sleep. Most campers are tucked up quite early with TVs going , so all is quiet in the camp site.The bed is quickly made up and we are soon in dreamland ready for the exciting day ahead of us.


Advertisement



30th May 2009

Your trip
Hello Sue and Tim, I am cotinuing to enjoy your travel blog and my interest is peaked that I could do this alone one day, hello Bucket list!!! I have only a month to go before I head off to see my 'Boys' and the extended family in England, I am fiddling every day with the suitcase and cant wait to pack up and go. Iam keeping very busy and enjoying my bowls and matches which are on the go. We are enjoying lovely weather befitting May, today being quite cool for a change. The gardens are all still looking lovely and I am busy pruning and clearing up the over growth of Summer. Your garden is faring well in spite of very little rain. I look forward to hearing your future travel experiences. Love to you both, Deirdre
30th May 2009

MOM...roo slayer?
Hi mom, wow how brown are you looking? Enjoyed your blog, but tell us more about this roo slayer thing? Missing you guys very much, we are off to the park now for a picnic, scorching hot here, summer has arrived, yay!! Love you guys very much and keep up the blogs!! love julz and frankie xxxx
31st May 2009

Great to see you coping with all the house work. Baking paper is indeed a great invention, works well on the BBQ as well.

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb