Broome


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
October 2nd 2005
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Preparing to boxPreparing to boxPreparing to box

Boxing Joe agreed to give me a wee boxing lesson with his wraps...
02.10.05
After a long, hot drive, we arrived in Broome, checked out the campsites but by then we were pretty fed up on them, so we checked into the cheapest hostel - $15 for the 1st night. Knowing that you get what you pay for, it was ok... but not many people around, kitchen was upstairs and our qualified bed-checker, Joe, found the odd bed bug...

We stayed anyway. For a week at least. Joe booked his ticket back to Perth for a week's time, the girls and Hayden started job hunted. As did I, but half-heartedly as it was too tempting to be as lazy as Joe was being!

We spent the week lazing, swimming and beaching, along with a visit to the local croc farm, the local outdoor cinema and a few (much needed) crazy dancing evenings!!

12.10.05
All on the same day, Hayden left for Darwin (and mango picking), Sian and Anna changed hostels closer to the beach and started their new house-keeping jobs, and I saw Joe onto the plane...

It's always a wierd, empty feeling when you're suddenly alone after being in constant company for a long time. This was no different.
1st boxing lesson... and last!1st boxing lesson... and last!1st boxing lesson... and last!

Although I spent the whole time giggling, I hope I remember the very important tips - thanks Joe! I certainly don't envy his punchbag!
As Mum always says, I was out of my 'safety bubble' again!

After a wee panic attack, I too moved to Cable Beach Backpackers, where the atmosphere is great - what you get when you pay a bit more I guess! Sian, Anna and I were soon wrapped back into a group of Germans, Canadians,


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Karaoke barKaraoke bar
Karaoke bar

Joe, Anna & me... cheers!
The Irish Girls!The Irish Girls!
The Irish Girls!

Mary, Grainne and Sarah... we were reunited once again! Cheers!
KaraokeKaraoke
Karaoke

Free beer when you sing a song! It was lovely to see Aboriginal people enjoying themselves! Altho some had great singing voices, the others left a lot to be desired! Shame they'd run outta beer vouchers when I sang!
Peanut ButterPeanut Butter
Peanut Butter

During our trip, Anna discovered that peanut butter can be eaten with absolutely anything... she even found a lady who agreed! Egg & tomato seemed to be her favourite choices.
BeachingBeaching
Beaching

Sian, Anna, Joe and Hayden relaxing on Cable Beach.
AnnaAnna
Anna

I love clouds! And this crazy clown!
Outdoor cinemaOutdoor cinema
Outdoor cinema

Deb, Sian & Anna
Moon & CinemaMoon & Cinema
Moon & Cinema

What's wierder is the low-flying planes soaring above during the film!
Once man and his crocOnce man and his croc
Once man and his croc

This guy spent his afternoon building! He also forgot his camera so I had to email him the pics!
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Joe and I were swimming during the really good colours... makes one feel extremely lucky!
Crocodile FarmCrocodile Farm
Crocodile Farm

Joe & I took a day trip to see crocs being fed and teased! They rehabilitate as well as breeding for food.
How close?How close?
How close?

Thank goodness for fences!


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb