What a Fantastic Place


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Now I know that I have only been in Broome for one day ..... but I have to put up another post. I love this place!

As I said in my last post, my night in the Roebuck Bay Caravan Park last night next to Mr Snore-Alot was not the best introduction to Broome, and after awaking to a pea souper this morning I was beginning to wonder where the hell I was. My judgement was definitely premature! Broome is gorgeous. After setting up the Thunderbox in my new home, the Palm Grove Caravan Resort (yes .... thats what its called!), I set out to explore Broome. My first stop was Cable Beach .... wow! This beach is gorgeous. I have not yet dipped the big toe in the water yet, however hope to get a chance to do that tomorrow. The Beach is wide, with white sands and gorgeous blue waters however. Definately an inviting scene.

I next headed off to Guanthaeme Point - only because it sounded interesting (and very French!). Not having any expectations of this place, I found it absolutely breathtaking. The red sandstone rocks against the clear blue waters and the white sands of Cable Beach in the background. What more can I say? The only disappointment was what seemed to be a large hazard reduction burn occurring somewhere to the south which spread an ugly dark haze over the horizon. I am hoping to get back there to take more pics before I leave Broome - hopefully on a clear day.

Now Broome of course was originally a pearling town and many Japanese and Chinese apparently came to Broome to work as pearl divers. Many lost their lives in the process. So it happens that there is both a Japanese and a Chinese Cemetery in the town. The Japanese cemetery has been restored and is an amazing sight with raw headstones almost entirely inscripted in Japanese (as you would expect) covering the ground. Unfortunately there was a garbage bin outside the cemetery which smelled as though someone had been buried in it! Lucky for you guys, I can only post photos on this site and not odours. J

My next stop was the the Town Centre where I wandered around the main street. This is where I noticed the wanted sign for “male models”. The only prerequisite was to be “fun, confident and have a decent rig”. Well that is obviously me to a “T” I am sure you will all agree! I am seriously applying!!

The highlight of the day however was sunset at Cable Beach ... not because of the sunset (which was a tad disappointing due to cloud cover in the distance .... better luck tomorrow) ... but because of the whales frolicking off the beach. It was great! The first time I have seen whales live - and even though they were a fair distance away and so the only thing you could really see were water sprays flying into the air, it was still a spectacle.

After one day, I can honestly say that Broome is the highlight of my trip so far. And I still have so much to see and do.

I am booked to do a scenic flight (yes ... another one!) to the Horizontal Falls next week with my mate Matt.

Hope you enjoy the new pics.

As a post script to the above, the book I am currently reading on Bradley Murdoch (Peter Falconios killer) describes how Broome was formerly a home for Murdoch (in fact he used to carry marijuana between South Australia and Broome to sell to the locals .... I kid you not!). And where did Murdoch drink when in Broome? The Satay Hut - which is right next door to the Roebuck Caravan Park where I spent my first night here. Kind of justifies my decision to relocate to Cable Beach!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

WhalesWhales
Whales

See the water spray and the spash. If you look closely you can just see the whale(s)


31st July 2008

Hi I think the horizontal falls will be fantastic and may be the new highlight of your trip ! Valerie
4th August 2008

What's the Broome Cup anyway - Is it worth the free entry??
23rd August 2008

Guanthaeme Point
Rich, you've obviously been out in the sun for too long. All I can see are piles of rocks! Watch out for those hillbilly banjo players......

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb