Goodbye Katherine hello Broome - 1547km


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Katherine to Broome


My first long haul on the Greyhound what a distance.........it took nineteen and half hours travel time and a completley shattered Kat, I crashed out at the earliest opportunity. The tan is coming along well not that my pictures seems to show or maybe I am just kidding myself, no sunburn as yet (touchwood....picture me touching my head) Cable Beach is lovely but only a small area can be swam in de to rifts, sharks oh and I forgot to mention Jellyfish. Broome has it's own pace and that is very slow nearly to a stop, so as the saying in WA you wait awhile it is so true. Broome is a tourist town and lives off tourism. On tuesday I went Kyaking at Gantheaume Point I saw Anastasia Pool legend has it that a gentleman by the name of Patrick percy had a wife who was crippled with authritus and to ease her joints he would carry here to the rock pool where the sea has been trapped and the trapped water was heated by the sun creating a warm spa......I hear you all say I want a Patrick that is so romantic but hold that thought there was another side to Patrick, apparently the reason he was in Australia as he fled Ireland for murding his first wife....he's not looking so nice now is he.
My Kyaking partner was Emma what a riot she was she from Tas, in between having water fights with the other people on our trip including the instructor, I don't think I could get any wetter (Please see the action shots). We also met a couple from Victoria, Steve introduced himself as Fat Bastard and his wife was called Virgina all together we were the mischevious four. Steve was full of jokes from the moment he got on the bus.
Check out my shorts and new sunnies...I feel like I could fly like Maverick all I need is a jump suit.
Emma and myself teamed up again to go on a sunset camel ride, we had a glass of wine prior. Emma said I could choose the camel so I walked along the train and settled on Zeta she was at the end, she was looking all shy and we had a moment but as I was about to get on her, she went phyco I have never moved so fast in my entire life she set off all the other camels in the train as well, the handler said she was menapausal (yes it was a guy that made that comment) I had to be coaxed back to the saddle. The picture should show you all the fun we had. I did have a walk like John Wayne after that ride so to recover Emma and I went to the nearest bar and had a few bottles of wine until the sensation passed. Steve and Virgina joined us so the mischevious four were back together the evening was filled with non stop laughter.
After Emma left I happened to get some work, as it fell in my lap I am working in a Global Gossip outlet which also is a tour booking centre I have myself sorted for an Uluru Trip when I return in August. I am really enjoying the interaction with other travellers exchanging advice and travel tips.
Last night I treat myself to see Sex in the City and it was well worth the wait, I really enjoyed myself I laughed and cried.
I am off to Town Beach tonight to watch the moon come up as it is situated the otherside of the town to Cable Beach
I also met another solo traveller Jo from Sydney and as luck would have it we are on the same bus from Coral Bay to Kalbarri, so the journey should pass quickly
Saturday I begin my trip off to Exmouth but lucky for me Emma actually is working there so we should have a blast


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Emma trying out her photography skillsEmma trying out her photography skills
Emma trying out her photography skills

I laughed so much I nearly fell off the camel
Little BirdieLittle Birdie
Little Birdie

This fellow kept me entertained for ages on my walk this morning at Cable Beach
Sand CrabSand Crab
Sand Crab

The fellow that created this is about a mm as you can see he has been hard at work
The end of the worldThe end of the world
The end of the world

I feel like I am standing on the edge of the world


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb