Twas the Night Before the Night Before . . . .


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Williamstown
May 31st 2017
Published: May 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Two more sleeps before the Four Amigos start their epic adventure traversing the "Land of the Free".

Visas and Insurance in order. We've all selected our "stallion" of choice. Degreased and cleaned. New shiny bits bought.

The biggest question to answer still, do we use Road cleats or MTB?



We've organised accommodation in LA, not sure if we have a car yet? Plenty of time for that. The nerves are starting to tingle as it sinks in that 5000kms is a bloody long way to pedal. Especially as we have 3 mountain ranges to cross before hitting Baltimore 5 weeks later.



So let's introduce the Amgos . . .

Amigo #1: Jeff Hilder:

Age: Younger than he looks

Description: Hasn't been big on training, except the one he caught back from Frankston last week. He will be riding the Canondale Synapse. The same steed that carried him to Uluru. Don't let the grey hair and easy going attitude fool you - what he starts, he finishes!



Amigo #2: Tom Melican

Age: Old, actually very old!

Description: Tom's the size of a draught horse but thinks he moves like a thoroughbred. He'll be taking the titanium Lightspeed with him. I hope it's stronger than the titanium bike he took to Europe that he broke the bottom bracket on. A big man with a big appetite, he's looking forward to the buffets.



Amigo #3: Dave Durad

Age: Older than me. Just. Which makes him old in my book

Description: Dave will be taking the Malvern Star Oppy. Training hasn't been big on the priority list but plenty of time for that when we get to LA. Last time we did a long distance ride, he broke a shoulder 2 days out. But still completed the ride.



Amigo #4: Mark Chircop

Age: Older than I look.

Description: I'll be taking my number two steed the Ridley Excalibur. I've been training hard but decided to start tapering - in March. At least I should be fresh.



Seriously, I looking forward to spending 6 weeks with these guys as we pedal our way through deserts, across mountains, through the corn belt, skirt the top of the South and head to the East Coast.

And you can read all about it right here on my blog.

Advertisement



31st May 2017

Have a great trip Amigos
Have a great trip Amigo's, anyone going to have a bet on the most punchers
1st June 2017

Why do I wish I was joining you?
Do I really wish I was? I think it is the adventurer hidden way inside me that thinks it would be fun until the third consecutive 150KM day. Have a great time gents and make sure you dial ahead to where you are going to stop so they can top the buffets up for Tom to breathe in.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb