Horse play!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Wallen
February 13th 2007
Published: February 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Part of my plan when I came to Australia was to find work/opportunities to do plenty of horse riding in an attempt to revive a hobby which had become squeezed out by all those things that take over as you “grow up”??? With this in mind I made contact with Lorraine who lives a little way North of Melbourne near a small town called Wallan. She was asking for people to help out with exercising her horses, giving me a perfect opportunity to get back in the saddle. So here I am surrounded by the most obedient horses I’ve ever come across!!

I’ve been here a little over a week so far and plan to stay for a couple more. I’m feeling quite exhausted with all the riding and I’ve rediscovered a few muscles which have been taking a break for a while but I’m having a lovely time. I have my own little project - Von Trapp, a beautiful chestnut colt, 3 yrs old. He’s been on a break for a few months and has developed a rather large belly so my task is to ride him until his belly redistributes itself to other areas! Lorraine’s free time revolves around here horses (she has about 14 altogether I think!) so I’m being immersed in lots of horsey things. I’m taking Von Trapp along for a riding lesson with a world renowned trainer/coach at the weekend and I’ve somehow been roped in to doing “penciling” for a judge in an advanced dressage competition which basically involves scribing scores and comments. I’m sure I’ll manage to bluff my way through that somehow!!!

Been making a few plans for the next couple of months but I think I’ll keep that info up my sleeve for now….



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My latest transport!My latest transport!
My latest transport!

Meet Von Trapp, my project for the next few weeks!
Before workBefore work
Before work

My mission is to shift the belly!
Before workBefore work
Before work

Amazing what a difference camera angle can make!
Action shotAction shot
Action shot

Daily exercise - for me as well as the horse!!


28th February 2007

Keeping Fit
What a great job !!! and a beautiful horse !! I can't remember how long it has been since I was on a horse , but I do remember having difficulty walking the next day !! Teresa's girls are all horse mad and Beth and Holly work at the stables on Saturdays in return for extra riding. Glad you are having lovely sunshine - we have had rain and more rain and some snow a few weeks ago, but Spring is definately on the way as there are daffodils out in the garden. Lots of love and HUGS XX

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 56; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb