Vegas here we come.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Tullamarine
August 21st 2011
Published: August 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Finally at the airport with Deano, checked bags and heading to Qantas Club for brekky. The realisation of finally heading off on a trip of a lifetime has hit whilst chewing on a piece of fruit toast and sipping on my first latte for the day.

Boarded 45 minutes late but who cares as long as the thing takes off and lands where we are suppose to.

The A380's in flight entertainment system is fantastic. Deano and I are watching the plane take off from the tail camera. All I can think is Fraser would be freaking out watching this. Did go through my mind though that if something went wrong did I really want to see it on a screen in front of me, then a second later I was back thinking 'no this is grouse'.

The flight was smooth to LA except Deano was squashed into his seat by the woman in front who managed, due to her size, (pacific island decent of course) to get the seat to go back further than originally engineered. Good job he's half blind as the entertainment screen was 3 inches from his face. He wanted the isle seat so suck it up buddy. The male hostie also was hitting on him, stroking his arm when he spoke to him. I think he wanting Deano to do a Ralph Finnes with him in the amenities.
Very funny for me not great start for Deano.

Arrived in LA with only a short time to get connection to Vegas. Managed to make connection with only 10 minutes to spare, not sure if luggage was going to get on the same fight. As long as the golf clubs arrive I don't care was all I repeated for the next hour.

Just before we landed in Vegas the pilot came on the p.a. singing Elvis - Viva Las Vegas. I think he was pissed myself but Deano reassured me that's what yanks are like. So I took his word for it. Then when we landed he overshot the runway and was forced to brake so severely that if you didn't have the seat belt up tight you were stuck to the rear of the seat in front. Deano was used to this anyway.I still reckon he was pissed.

We're here and its bloody hot. 'Driver take me to the Bellagio.' It wasn't that dramatic it was a shuttle bus with 20 other tourists who also had no idea where to go.

No photos yet, having issues uploading from tablet. Will rectify in coming days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb