"W" is for Wombat


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Swanston Street
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, most of you know how I feel about the letter "W", including the fact that I refer to it as "double u" and not "dubya"--don''t even get me started on that rant! But, I am beyond pleased to share my dear letter with the wombats & wallabies of the world. Afterall, that is what a world wanderer would do, right?

So yesterday Val (and I must clarify that she is not my sidekick, rather that designation belongs to our new fellow travel companion, Lou), Lou, & I headed off to the Taronga Zoo. The Taronga Zoo in Sydney is BEYOND spectacular, in fact I want to move in with the animals! They have amazing views...and it is the most amazing zoo I have ever visited (no offense Chris)! We were fortunate to see a baby Joey in it's mom's pouch...a mere six months old! Seeing alll the marsupials in their native land provided a whole new perspective...including all the koalas we saw...I think there were over ten of them! I have about a bizillion photos as documentation (now I just need to post them! I know, I know.)

Post the ferry ride back to Sydney from the zoo, we were able to see the Opera House in all its splendor against the evening sky. A fine way to close our adventures in Sydney!

Today we flew to Melbourne, where the weather has been quite a contrast to Sydney. We were fortunate to have warm, sunny weather there, while it is cold and rainy in Melbourne...but then again it is winter here afterall. This evening we wandered about and saw an exhibit of aboriginal artwork at the National Gallery of Victoria. Very interesting and informative.

Thanks for all your witty words via email and commentary...always entertaining!

Love and kangaroos (that includes Lou the Roo)!

Advertisement



5th July 2007

Cool, Austrailia!
Glad you're having a great time. The zoo sounds great. We were actually considering a trip to Australia so it's good to hear the details. Take care.
6th July 2007

I'm so jealous!
Hi Wendy- Bring on the koala pics! Brian and I are sooooo jealous (and Holly, too). Have fun! Russ
9th July 2007

"S" is for Skippy
Everyone knows that Australians like to be referred to as "Skippys"--try it out the next time you meet an Aussie!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb