First month in Aus


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
July 17th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My flight to Australia actually arrived into Melbourne half an hour early-when does that ever happen?! That meant that I had to wait anxiously for over 40 minutes for Mick's mum to pick me up from outside the aiport, someone I had never met and I had no clue as to what car I should be looking out for or what she looks like! I was merely looking for someone who looked as if they were looking for someone! Eventually that person arrived and we began the 2 hour drive to Colac in the country where Mick was staying in hospital. I spent only an hour with Mick in the hospital, who by that time had pretty much grown a beard and lost some weight. He seemed really upset which made it so hard to leave him there all by himself. But I did, I stayed at Micks house with his mum and 2 sisters whom I've never met before. That must have been just as odd for them as it was for me. Looking back to the day I met Mick, being in his home without him just seemed so unreal. The next day I spent 12 hours with him in hopsital watching DVDs, and the night back at home with his family. The day after was Micks birthday and he was allowed home in the afternoon. We went along the road to his aunts house who had made a the family favourite lasagne. I met Micks little cousins that night too. I was like a little guinea pig to them, they were getting me to say things in an english acent, mainly "would you like a cup of tea and a biscuit?!!" And then they asked me to talk as if I was australian. Anyway, I spent the week in Colac before heading up to Melbourne.

Mick lives in Port Melbourne with his poppa, dad, best friend and cousin! So I'm pretty much in the house of trouser right now! The apartment is amazing, a penthouse on the harbour where Delta Goodren used to live!! The view from his rook balcony is amazing to say the least. I've been into the shopping capital a few times and seen federation square. Mick bought me a ticket to see Collingwood play Hawthorn in an AFL game which was a good experience. When Mick went back to work for a couple of days (before the doctor told him to stop right away), his poppa took me to visit various relatives, all of which Mick assures me he has never met! Poppa also took me to Ramsey street! That was surreal I can tell you, and a LOT smaller than it looks on TV! I kept picturing all the scenes in that close and how many stars have walked through it!

This week I went to St Kilda to a British Pub for the neighbours night! Basically, this was a one off special where Karl Kennedy played in his band which was awesome. They sang songs like the killers and Bloc Party and the Keiserchiefs-they rocked! Stingray also played in his band, more of a swing band, but again, awesome!! Ned-stus brother was also there and looking mighty fine, as was lilliyana although she died! The BBC were filming a documentary which is going to be broadcasted after neighbours one evening in October, so keep a look out for me!

Not a lot else has been occuring in Melbourne to be honest. MIck still can't walk so we've not had the chance to do many things together. HOpefully when I'm back down this end at the end of my Aussie stint, we'll be able to get out a bit more. I'm off to Cairns tomorrow to start my East Coast adventure, alone again so I'm a little scared!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb