Grooveey Train


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
April 9th 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, we made it to Sydney and managed to get the campervan checked back in without them noticing that the PlayStation no longer worked, although I'm sure it wasn't our fault...

It was good to check back into the old Parrot, (this must be about the 3rd time I've left only to return shortly after), and have a few bevvies with Adam and the other remaining lifers. I spent a few days job hunting and managed to sort out two interviews for potential positions down in Melly, both of which fell through several days later due to the company and agent's incompetance.

On the 6th I jumped back on a plane to Melbourne, (I'd learnt my lesson and made sure to leave plenty of time to get there this time), and found myself standing in the shuttle bus queue for 20mins, late at night, wondering whether the service had packed up for the day, still I passed the time chatting to this girl stood besides me - Nicki - until after a while we realised we were both heading to St Kilda, and so jumped in a taxi together.

The conversation progressed and it turns out she's a band promoter / PR girl who's good mates with the son of a Rolling Stone who was getting her into the Darkness' aftershow party that night, (yes, the night was getting weird, but my ears pricked up when at the talk of VIP aftershow parties and all of a sudden Nicki was my newest, potential best friend...i'm so shallow, so sue me). The offer to pop into the Prince for a little drink on the way home couldn't be resisted and I bumped into her mates and stopped around for a few post-flight drinks and to work on my business contacts.

I'd told Nicki that I was job hunting when we were in the taxi and she'd mentioned that some mates of hers owned a bistro in South Melly that was looking for work. I'd explained polietely that I was waiting around for a well paid IT contract to crop up, but days later when the job offers were failing to materialise, I realised anything was better than nothing and so rang Nicki, got the bistro number, rang them up, explained I had no prior waitering experience and completed my first shift at Groovetrain on Sunday! It was actually really good fun, once you ignored the moody management and overcame the complexities of whether or not a hot chocolate gets one or two marshmallows and how to carry three plates at once, these 'essentials' bogged me down less and pretty soon I was loving it - maybe contrary to my initial thoughts I was born to serve rather than be served...is this a good thing?









Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.8kb