Half way around the world....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
March 16th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

St-KildaSt-KildaSt-Kilda

Luna Park in St-Kilda. It's an amusement park that was only open for one night....
After a flight that felt like forever (23 hours to be exact!), I arrive in Melbourne. I meet up with Greg in Abu Dhabi and we were on the same flight to Australia for a week of tranquility and relaxation before Greg's hectic week. We arrived Tuesday evening. It was a beautiful evening so we decided to go for a bite on the beach. We were lucky to have nice weather for the 2 weeks. It only rained on qualifying day for a little bit and now and again on race day. The first week was very nice, we didn't do much other than some site seeing near by - more like visiting shopping precincts. Although we didn't do much buying because everything was just too expensive. To put it in perspective, I bought a sicilian cannoli and a little strawberry tartlette for 9$!!!! You could get a dozen cannolis in Montreal for that price! Speaking of Montreal, I never really believe Greg when he would say that Melbourne is exactly like Montreal but it is - just on a much bigger scale! It was great walking on the streets passing Little Italy and seeing old men in the bars/cafes watching
St-KildaSt-KildaSt-Kilda

The front of a shop.
the world go by and listeming to people speak italian. Grabbing a bite in Chinatown (no peanut butter dumplings though!), having some souvlakis on Greek street. It was just like being home -only with out the family and friends 😞
Our second week was ok. I got to venture out trying to taken as much as I can on my own. It was a tough week for Greg again. Although he didn't have 45 hour shifts, there were lates nights. Good thing Sue (Bernie's secretary) was free so we went out and had a few drinks ( can you believe a bloody ceasar was $14!!!). Things were looking ok for the race - never would we have imagined to come in second! And to think I wasn't even going to go to the race. Greg wasn't able to get me a ticket so I wasn't going to go but on race day, I walked by the information centre where they were selling the tickets. I went in to see how much a ticket cost - thank good I had my student id, I got a student rate: $68. Once I got to Albert Park, Greg sent someone to get me
St-KildaSt-KildaSt-Kilda

The beach!!!!! It was absolutely lovely and not crowded. maybe because it was the end of summer for them?
at the grand stand entrance. I managed to watch the race from the motor home with some guests ( the owner of T.W. Steel watches and some olympic swimmer). I think I lost 5lbs watching the last 12 laps of the race! And when it was over, we all ran to the podium to watch the drivers get their trophies - and get showered with champagne!!! Despite the great finish - no celebrating for the guys - they had to strip the car and dismantle the garage 😞
Hope you enjoy my pictures (unfortunately some of them did not come out too good because the camera is playing up...)!


Additional photos below
Photos: 102, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

St-KildaSt-Kilda
St-Kilda

Greg enjoying the sun
St-KildaSt-Kilda
St-Kilda

The beach ( sorry, camera playing up on me, time to get a new one I think....)
St-KildaSt-Kilda
St-Kilda

more of the beach
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Southbank
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Greg on Flinders Street by the Southbank
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

the city line from the Southbank
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

The train station
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

A tired greg taking a well deserved rest...
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

More of the Southbank
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

more of the city line from the Southbank
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

The train station from Flinder's Street
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

A quarcky little arcade with some shops.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Parliament building
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

more of the parliament building
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

An art museum in Federation Square
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

The front of the train station
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Some guy playing the bagpipes infront of the train station - you would have thought he would put a little more effert if he's asking for money: i.e. wear a kilt?!?!
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

St-Paul's Cathedral across Federation Square


Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb