Commonwealth Games 2006


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
March 22nd 2006
Published: March 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The buzz around Federation SquareThe buzz around Federation SquareThe buzz around Federation Square

Everyone sitting watching the Commonwealth Games
I'm in Australia!!! I was so excited about coming here that I was worried it wouldn't exceed my expectations but it has! I know everyone says Australians are really friendly, but they really really are! Even at customs and baggage claim at the airport they had a conversation with you and we're really friendly which I have never experienced in any airport! And everythings so organised and efficient (which I probably feel more as we've just come from Asia).

When we arrived, we got a bus to the hostel (Base) which is really lovely. They did mess up our booking though and I'm in a dorm by myself (well without Patrice and Charlene) and they're in the one next door. The dorms are called The Sanctuary dorms for girls only were you get free Aveda products and there's a hairdryer in the bathroom! And there's 6 girls to a room, its' really nice though and really secure with a big draw that has a lock on it so we feel safe.

We managed to get tickets to the Commonwealth Games and on the first night we went to see the Basketball at Melbourne Park. We got a tram to
The buzz around Federation SquareThe buzz around Federation SquareThe buzz around Federation Square

Some of the many entertainers
Flinders Street then walked to Federation Square which was buzzing. It's such an amazing atmosphere here with the games going on, everyone's smiling and the sun is shining! And it's just like a festival atmosphere with entertainment going on and people sitting on the floor watching the big screen. Then we walked to Melbourne Park and the basketball was sooo good. We watched the Mens' Classification round - Scotland and South Africa and the Womens Semi Final - England and New Zealand. I can't believe we're in Melbourne for the Commonwealth Games (we didn't plan it) and we didn't even know who we were watching and we managed to see England!! Obviously most people were supporting New Zealand so we were slightly outnumbered with our English flags! Unfortunately England lost but they did so fighting - New Zealand we're so good!

Then today we went to see the Athletics at Melbourne Cricket Ground. It was so much fun and I even saw a Cypriot athete competing in the Hurdles (Go Cyprus!)

So far I'm having such a great time here, I really think I could live here! Hopefully Australia continues to exceed my expectations (I'm sure it will
The GamesThe GamesThe Games

Mens classification - South Africa v Scotland
as tomorrow I'm going to Ramsey Street on the Neighbours tour!!!!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The GamesThe Games
The Games

Mens classification - South Africa v Scotland
The GamesThe Games
The Games

Womens Semi Final - England v New Zealand
The GamesThe Games
The Games

Melbourne Cricket Ground - Athletics
The GamesThe Games
The Games

Melbourne Cricket Ground - Hurdles


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb