Hello From Down Under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
February 17th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, since my last entry I have moved from Thailand all the way to Melbourne, Australia. I've got a few bits of news from when I was still in Thailand and then I will update you on Melbourne and my forthcoming trip to Ramsey Street!

Thailand: Our final day in Krabi was spent sun bathing and looking around the shops. I also sampled a traditional Thai foot massage. There are lots of massage shops lined up along the beach, although they all look very similar; a row of mattresses on a raised platform with a thatched roof covering them. Very basic but fitting. We visited massage centre number four because we felt obliged. A lady from the centre had approached us on the beach earlier and when we said that we would probably be visiting later she returned with fresh pineapple to keep us sweet. I paid 200 baht, which is just under 3 pounds, for a one hour foot massage. It was very good. I came away feeling as if I had had a full body massage and we were given more fresh fruit to take away with us. We then had a night out on the town in Krabi in the Lunar Beach Bar, Denise and me spent most of the night dancing away to familiar songs on the dance floor.
The next day we were faced with the prospect of a four hour drive to Surat Thani followed by a 12 hour over night train journey to Bangkok. Originally we were meant to be spending a night in Surat Thani and all I can say is that I am glad we didn't, one hour was enough!
The night train overall was better than I had expected. I had a top bunk and although it worried me how narrow it was and the fact that there was nothing to stop you from falling out it was ok. The availability of food on the train was another thing. I didn't fancy the meal that was provided so at about 9pm I decided to venture down the train to try and find the snack shop. After having to cross a carriage that was wide open at both sides and passing through another carriage full of monks I gave up.
Bangkok: We stayed in a hotel called The New World Lodge. It faced the city canal and on the other side were all run-down houses and slums. It was a real contrast. Bangkok is not a very beautiful place but it is interesting. Its full of little side streets and has quite a few bars. We visited one place with a live Thai band who loved to sing nothing other than Craig David and The Black Eyed Pea's....
Jourrney To The River Kwai: on our final day in Thailand we took a full days trip to the River Kwai. Denise, Claire, and me had a full mini bus to ourselves because so many people had dropped out after having too many beers the night before. First of all we went to a World War 2 Prisoners of War museum. I'm not usually a massive museum fan but it was really interesting. We then visited a World War 2 cemetry. It had been kept in perfect condition and on one side their were American and Swedish graves and then the entire other side was filled with British fighters. We walked by some of them and spotted lots of men who were from Manchester and none of them were over the age of 25. Next we went on a trip on the Death Train on Death Railway. We hadn't been travelling for more than 10 minutes when it decieded to break down. Everyone started piling off the train and walking back and we soon followed. We looked like refugee's all lined up heading back to the station. By this time we were ready for some lunch and we went for a buffet at this cafe that over looked the River Kwai; got some lovely photos. In the afternoon we visited the disused railway track and also stopped to walk over the bridge. The bridge is still in use yet people are still allowed to walk freely along the track!
That evening Arife took us for our final night out. Lets just say it was a bit of a let down and the trip did not finish on a very high point.
Overall this trip has been amazing. It has been a real experience with a great bunch of people. It has taken me to some fantastic places that I probably would have never seen otherwise.

Life Down Under....
Moving on to Australia. I am having a good time in Melbourne. I have been here for four days now and it is a nice place to start. We've just been trying to find our feet. When we were on the trip all of our accomodation was orgainsed for us. It hasn't been until now that we have had to worry about finding somewhere to sleep and budgeting for food shopping. The day that we arrived was a bit of a disaster. We hadn't had any sleep on the flight and our accomodation had been messed up, plus the sun wasn't shining. But the next day we went out and booked into a better and cheaper hostel for a week and the sun came out. Some of the time you struggle to believe that you are the other side of the world but then when you go down to the beach and you see people on roller blades and with their personal trainers you realise that you really are. Also, I saw Connor from Neighbours! I've also booked to go on a Ramsey Street tour on monday and then to a neighbours trivia quiz in the eveing. I know its sad but I am still excited at the prospect of meeting Harold Bishop!
We visited the city centre yesterday which is nice but doesn't really have anything that amazing. We are in Melbourne until Wednesday and then were heading for Sydney via Canbera.
I think that is all of my news for now. I hope everyone is ok and I will be in touch again soon, love Rachelxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb