My Home


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
March 15th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Acland StreatAcland StreatAcland Streat

At a cafe on Acland St. in St. Kilda a walk down from my work
My home is Melbourne Australia. It still blows my mind everyday. I go for a jog down the Esplanade on the beach and it takes my breath away. I ride my bike to work everyday, go to the cinema 2-3 times a week, go for long runs along the beach, go to the gym, and just lay in the sun. It's tough being on the road i guess. Im more self-aware, patient, and at peace than i have been in my whole life. It's nice to be in a place that you love waking up everyday. And to think i have only seen Melbourne so far, there is a whole other country the size of the U.S. out there for me to explore.

So Im working 6 days a week saving for Zea Newland in late June. Starting to actually put a little bit of money away and its nice. I work at Vibe Cafe, a little Italian resto/cafe/bar, in the middle of St. Kilda a suburb of Melbourne. The people are great and the owner is nice enough. To all the people out there in Jared's list of Blog recipents; If i can be this happy and making it
St. KildaSt. KildaSt. Kilda

Beachtime!
traveling overseas don't you think you all need to get out here and try something different? Just go somewhere. Pick a place, buy a ticket, and just disappear from everything for a while. It's liberating and self assuring knowing that you have to power to go out into the world and make it. Even if it's just for a short while it's worth the adventure and the inner strength and confindence you gain is well worth the price of admission. I hope you all read this message and get inspired. I would love to see family or friends out in the world one day. Where ever i am you will always have someone to rely on if you want to take a little adventure for a while. We can sit on a beach in Australia, go sking in New Zealand, eat Korean food at a food stall in Downtown Seoul, ride camals in India, or take a ride along the Great Ocean Road. A place to stay and a proper tour guide await you if your ready to take a proper holiday.




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

St. KildaSt. Kilda
St. Kilda

This is where i get to run everyday. Get OUT!
St. KildaSt. Kilda
St. Kilda

Ridin my bike takin photos of myself
My Bike!!My Bike!!
My Bike!!

No hands!!!
St. KildaSt. Kilda
St. Kilda

Sidewalk that follows the coastline for as far as i have gone.
St. Kilda BeachSt. Kilda Beach
St. Kilda Beach

Yup. That's the beach i live 10 minutes walk from.
So much beerSo much beer
So much beer

So i get back from work and almost every night this is what i see. Once a week i can participate but not this night. What a shame.
Vibe Cafe StaffVibe Cafe Staff
Vibe Cafe Staff

Paul only other guy i work with. The rest are girls. We have bonded. We had to.
Cafe Vibe StaffCafe Vibe Staff
Cafe Vibe Staff

Jessi, Arlette, and Spanish Jessica
Cafe Vibe StaffCafe Vibe Staff
Cafe Vibe Staff

Spanish Jessica's Bday party after work. We had a few drinks
Cafe Vibe StaffCafe Vibe Staff
Cafe Vibe Staff

I clearly am bored to tears by these two so i just took a little cat nap.
Cafe Vibe StaffCafe Vibe Staff
Cafe Vibe Staff

Jessica#2, Me, and Jessi
Cafe Vibe StaffCafe Vibe Staff
Cafe Vibe Staff

I think at this point Jessi on the right had just finished peeing on my leg.
Cafe Vibe StaffCafe Vibe Staff
Cafe Vibe Staff

Jessica#2 and I
Cafe Vibe StaffCafe Vibe Staff
Cafe Vibe Staff

Whats funny is this is an actual candid shot of Paul speaking to another staff member. Guess she must have let one slip out.
Cafe VibeCafe Vibe
Cafe Vibe

This is were i work. Lovely


15th March 2007

i dont miss u at all
brobro...whats up man?! miss ya. im glad your havin a blast. im tryin to consolidate and pay off things now, so i can make the trip soon. pray for me man caus its harder to get funds together for this than i thought, but im tryin. everyone seems to be bailin on me as far as the trip is concerned but im still workin on it...aight man im goin to a wedding in ft. myers this weekend but ill get at ya soon to give u an update on dates im workin on. i gotta come out there! take care, talk to u soon bro. girlies lookin good! much love. late
15th March 2007

Jared you are totally right that people need to get out and explore this world! Traveling, meeting new people, and enduring new experiences opens us making us more worldly, cultured, and free. I too, hope that everyone has a chance and takes up on it at least once in their life. I wish you safe and great travels! Take care!
15th March 2007

Mu Goo Gaipan
You gonna be home late today ssssssweetpea. Coz I got me some Chicken n some Carrottsss, and some Brocollii the hard kind you like, and I got me some moisssssst peeaasssss. And i m gonna get ussss a niccceee bottle of Red, ummmm maybe a Merlot and cook some MU GOO GAIPAN. I alllssssoo got that rash cream u was luuking for.. Cccccc u later Sssssailor..
15th March 2007

Cooee!
Aw you just made me a little homesick for old cooee with the pic of the beer bottles. Byron is AMAZING!!! I am feeling so happy to be in such a beautiful chilled out place, the beach is stunning (the sand is squeeky). Come visit some time! xKx
15th March 2007

Thanks Jared for your comments!! Nice to hear rom you Bisous
16th March 2007

Hey there u yankee-doodle! so glad ur having a good time,told u it was genna be fab-fucking-tastic! ahh,seems like only yesterday that we got chatting in bangkok all those monthes ago,dont forget to check out Sydney while ur down under,so cool! take care mr doodle(first name yankee of course!) drop us a line if u ever get to europ! rose
16th March 2007

Jessica #61
Jesus, how many Jessicas do you know?? Well, I kind of hope you stay in Australia for a while so I have some place to stay when I make it out there. Probably won't be able to do it in 2007 (all my vacations are built around people's damn weddings - shit, what's the rush?), but I'd like to go out there sometime next year. I've actually got family in Melbourne. Course, I know them less than I know you, so I'm not sure how comfortable I'd be looking staying with them. Anyhow, glad you're feeling "at peace" finally. I'm starting to get settled here in LA, although I think this town will always seem pretty nuts to me.
16th March 2007

jealousy.
oh jared. are you proud? i actually read your blog! but i don't know if it made me feel better or worse. uggggggh. it's time to get out of the states. but i'm psyched that you're having a good time. get on msn soon. i want to talk to yoooooooou. -lp.
17th March 2007

We're on the same boat
I totally understand what you mean about the happiness of traveling,,, it's not just about seeing sites, eating new foods, etc (although those are the obvious perks!)... it's about discovering your true self, which has been distorted from all the conditioning we've had, and gaining perspective about what is really significant about life. It's so exhilerating, this journey we're on.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb