Melbourne I'm Back!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Moonee Ponds
March 13th 2013
Published: March 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So I have been back in Australia for 9 days and I’m loving it! Melbourne has had a heat wave up until today and its reached 34-37c everyday so I’ve managed to top up my tan a bit however the temperature has dropped today.. typical crazy Melbourne weather.

I needed to find a job and somewhere to live asap so as soon as I arrived in Melbourne after a 22 hour trip I was straight on the wi-fi in federation square looking for places and jobs. Still no luck on the job front, after being unsuccessful for a role I knew I could do in a 5* hotel I have resigned myself to thinking that maybe I should just look for another ‘backpacker’ job rather than a real and serious job, even being back a week and not being in hostels I feel like I’m missing the backpacker scene and at least this way I can leave whenever I want as already I’m thinking that although I love Melbourne I can’t stay here for a whole year.. I get itchy feet after 3 months! Maybe leave when the winter gets really bad and come back for the summer!

I have found somewhere to live though which is great and moved in today, my friend that I stayed with last week lives in Moonee Ponds which I hadn’t been to before and I fell in love with it on Day 1, its so cute with loads of cafes and shops.. and a K mart which is always handy, I did find a lovely flatshare with an Aussie women just around the corner from my friends and we got really excited about it and then 3 hours before I was meant to move in she bailed! It was due to personal circumstances suddenly changing so I do feel bad for her but I was gutted for myself, however everything happens for a reason and I then found a place where the rent is soo much cheaper. It’s slightly further from my friends and in Ascot Vale but it’s a nice area and only a tram ride away from them and the CBD. It’s a huge Australian house which I’m sharing with 2 girls from Vietnam who are very nice, plus a girl from Thailand, a girl from Sri Lanka and a guy from Korea. I haven’t met these 3 yet but I’m sure they will be nice and friendly and although its not going to be a party house I like the idea of sharing with people from such different cultures and I think I will learn a lot.. plus hopefully they will cook me some yummy food. The girls from Vietnam made a lovely looking dinner tonight and I was there with my cereal! It did also make me laugh when she informed me that she thought there was a fish and chip shop up the road!

Apart from the job and room search like I said ive just been topping up the tan in the park and on good ol st Kilda beach! On Friday we went for ‘after work’ drinks and got to see how the office staff of Melbourne spend their Friday nights drinking beer in a bar right on the side of the river underneath Flinders Station, I did feel a bit bad seen as I hadn’t worked all week and then felt even worse when I realized a pint of cider was $12!!

Sunday was Future Music Festival which I loved!! This is what I wanted to come back for but during last week I realized that a lot of my friends weren’t actually going anymore, part of me thought if I didn’t go at least I could save some money but I did really want to go. I ended up going with my friends housemate who I was staying with and who I had spoken to about 3 times during the week and a bunch of his girl friends from Tasmania and Melbourne and considering I met them all 2 hours before we left to go to the festival I had the best time with them! It made me realize that this is what I love about travelling- that people are so happy to invite you into their group of friends and you have an amazing time with them and even though I’ll probably never see the girls again I don’t regret one minute not finding other people to go with.

I am pleased that I’m settled in to a house and have my own space and it will do for the next few months, once im working im sure ill be pretty busy anyway and barely here! Fingers and toes crossed on the job front but sure I’ll find something soon, in the meantime im going to continue to enjoy Melbourne. Sunday is the Grand Prix final and Paddys day so everywhere will be buzzing!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb