Bones, Footy and Tooheys


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » MCG
May 26th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Days 4-7 are in the bag.

Day 4. Took it easy today, had a big night last night. Jody and Keith have invited me out for dinner with them. They decide it would be better to pick me up at the hostel, and I completely agree. Take me to the North side of Melbourne to an Italian district with many restaurants. Had a great pasta dinner with a local beer. Keith is off with some friends to see the upcoming Warren Miller flick. Jody and myself head to a couple local pubs in her area (Richmond). Both somewhat unsuccessful. They have again offered to pick me up tomorrow and to their house for dinner. Again, gladly accept.

Day 5 - Went up the Eureka tower today, the largest free standing building in the Oceana. 88 floors high, great view of Melbourne and surrounding area. 5pm Keith picks me up from the hostel and takes me to his and Jody's rental house. Keith makes his own beer, we proceed to crush some dark ale's. Time to head to the Footy game, Keith and Jody drop me off at the MCG.

This game was unreal. 80000 in attendance. Collingwood (4-5) def. Geelong (8-0) 134-48. Big blowout upset game, of course I was chearing for the Collingwood Magpies.

Day 6 - Time to catch the Oz Experience bus and start my travels up the coast. Make my way to the Victorian Arts Centre at 615am to meet "Bones" the driver. We never found out Bones' real name. I think he was in trouble with the Gov't. Anyways pick everybody else up, 12 in total on the bus, seats 20, so lots of room. First stop, Wilson's Promotory National Park. Hike up to a lookout point, then onto Squeaky Beach. Beautiful. Now onto Lakes Entrance town. Roast beef dinner, then "Shefield Mike" and myself head into town for some drinks and to catch the Rugby Union game. No such luck, but found a nice little bar with a band, met some local ladies, who happened to all be married, but still a good time. Back to the hostel at who knows what time for an early exit, 6am next day.

This is all I have time for right now. I am in Sydney, arrived tonight. Very tired, i'lll be here until thursday the 29th. I"ll up date the missing days maybe tomorrow.

Anyways, having a great time.

HI mom and Dad.

Bunk.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0876s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb