Smiles Worth a Thousand Words


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Hawthorn
September 29th 2007
Published: September 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's now very early in the morning on Sunday, but I'm not tired and I really have no desire to sleep at the moment. I think I last left off somtime toward the middle of the week and I must say the week rounded off with more of going to class and staying up late hanging out with my roommates.

Friday, I did not have class, but I woke up to try and run some errands before it got to be too late in the day. My first stop was the STA Travel office and it got me off on a very bad foot! I walked in and sat down only to be told that they, "could do nothing for me." Then when I told them that when I bought my ticket through them back in June they told me I could come to them to get it changed if I needed to...well, she repeated to me, "Ma'am, we can't help you. You need to call United." I knew they were wrong in this, so I came back to my room after dropping off photos for the yearbook to Xenia. I tried once again to call the STA 800 number from the phone cards I have, but it doesn't work. So, I just lost it in frustration. One thing I have noticed is that even Australia is "behind" where the States is......this is not their fault and I do not blame them, but I figured from the beginning that coming here would be almost identical to home because that's the perception that everyone has and the one I had too. Well, it's not just like home...it's like home was about 5 years ago. And when I get so caught up in it...I just get really frustrated. So, I sat to think for a moment about what I could do and I realized that while the last thing I wanted to do was to call my mom and have to rely on her to call to change my flights, I knew it was what I needed to do. Luckily, she was able to call STA the next day and get me a flight for Tuesday, Nov. 27, so I'll just be in Australia for 4 extra days than I originally planned. However, this means we have to move my doctor's appointment back, which therefore means my visit down to Louisville is moved back too. My hope is to get down there that following weekend, the first weekend of December to see them...even if it's only for a day. I really miss my friends....more than I could ever put into words.

So, anyway, back to Friday...after eating some lunch, I headed back out to run the rest of my errands. I headed to the little shop up the street to get CKB's birthday present and then to the post office to mail it when I realized that I forgot the card to go in the package. So, I was not able to mail that off....I'll have to go back on Monday and mail it....she won't be getting it til after her birthday, but I didn't want to mail it without the card...it's just SO COOL! Then, I came back and got a phone call from Theresa telling me to come over Tom's apartment because we were going to head into the city. So, I did and we went down to the Queen Vic Market and walked around even though for the most part it was compeltely closed. Then, we went and got dinner at Melbourne Central. We came back to the guy's apartment and watched The Ringer...which I did not like...sorry. Just not my kind of movie, I guess. And then, I asked if we could watch Sing! It's just like Greek Sing at U of L, except at Baylor, they just call it Sing! I was TOTALLY into it! It's watching those kinds of things that make me really sad I didn't go to a bigger university! Oh well, that's what Graduate school is for! Then, I came back here and hung out with my roommates again!

This morning, I woke up and my left eye is completely bloodshot...not a speck of white left on it and it hurts pretty bad. It's like my right eye was right before Spring Break. I don't know what's going on and why my eyes are doing this! If it continues to get worse I'm going to call the clinic on Monday and see if I can get in to see someone on Monday about my eye...because something's not right here!

Today was the Grand Final and I was supposed to go over to the West building and watch it with friends but I decided to stay in the apartment to hang with Berrak until she had to go to work. Well, I ended up falling asleep on the couch...I already had my one eye closed the whole time because it hurts to have it open...and I didn't wake up until about 6 when the game was over. Then, I ate dinner and watched a movie with my roommates. I've just been hanging out and doing homework all night. Plus, I just got the best facebook surprise either! Cassie, Heather, Brittany and Dr. B went out for frozen yogurt the other day and apparently, while they were there they made a small sign that says, "Katie, We Miss You. Love, The Gang" and took a picture with it! It totally made my day...in fact, it made me cry! A good cry of course! It's just so refreshing to see the faces of the people that I know love me and see them holding a sign that says that they love me....a person just needs that sometimes when they're thousands of miles away. I think all of us here are getting to the point where we're really beginning to miss life back at home...it's kind of at the point where we know our time here is beginning to come to an end and we're sad about that, but we're also longing to see our loved ones...it's a weird feeling! I've never wanted to be at home, but not have to leave where I am at the same time...I'm sure it will quickly fade as the time ticks away and none of us want to leave!

I can't believe that Monday is Oct. 1....CRAZY!!!! I am trying to decide what trip I want to go on....a trip to Uluru to see Ayer's Rock, to Sydney to see...well, Sydney, or to Tasmania....I can only afford one so now I just need to decide which one I want to go on. I'll let you all know what I decide! Plus, I still want to make a trip to Adelaide, Philip Island, Brighton Beach, etc....more local day trips!

Well, I'm off to bed as it's now past 3 am. Tomorrow is Sunday and it's the official moving day for Berrak. We're waking up in the morning, cleaning the apartment, the RA is coming to do the inspection and then we're moving Berrak into her new place....SAD FACE! Then, it's back for a day's worth of homework for me! I have 3 papers to write for my online class for Bellarmine...whoops! And yes, they're due tomorrow....good thing they're only like 2-3 pages each!

Until next time!
Much love!
Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb