Similarities


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Hawthorn
August 30th 2007
Published: August 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My footMy footMy foot

I think it's looking better!
During this entire adventure, I have been keen on finding the similarities and differences between America and Australia. Well, I can say that boredom in America and boredom in Australia are exactly the same!!! It gets old after about 5 hours! I have spent the last 4 days the following ways- Monday was spent at the clinic and the ER, Tuesday was spent on my couch icing my foot and watching TV, Wednesday was spent in class and working on homework and today has been the exact same as yesterday. I am finally down to one crutch and am going to attempt to go without crutches completely tomorrow. I still cannot put full pressure on my foot, but we'll see how it goes. If it hurts too much, I'll go back to one crutch! You can see by the pic that my foot is looking better and much less swollen- woo hoo!

I received the best postcard EVER today! It was exactly what I needed to cheer me up after this boring and somewhat depressing week. Nothing like being in Australia attempting to have the time of you life and being stuck in your apartment for a week with a bum foot! But, as Kristina always reminds me, at least I'm stuck in Australia with a bum foot and now back in boring old America with a bum foot, right?! When I first picked up the postcard out of my mailbox it was side-up with the text that Dr. Beeny had written and I read, "Isn't it nice to know you are still in the minds and hearts of so many people?" And then I turn it over to see several of my favorite people...plus, 3 of my favorite little people- my Matthew, Ashley and Emily Kate. The perfect picker-upper to a bad day! And yes, it is nice to know that so many people are still thinking of me.

Can you believe that today marks the point in which there are only 2 weeks left until Spring Break! That's is so CRAZY! We are already going on week 5 of classes and there are only 12 weeks!!!! AHH! Not next week, but the following week, I have a test on Wednesday, a paper due Friday and then a group presentation the following Wednesday! Talk about a crazy week....I'll be glad when it's over! I'm kind of nervous about all the first assignments coming up. I feel fairly confident about the test as I know the material really well and have been keeping up with the exercise problems/questions and know how to work all of them! The paper, I will feel better after getting to the library tomorrow to do some research- yes, I, Katie Kolkmeier am researching a paper 2 weeks before it's even due- what's wrong with me!?

Well, the only random fun fact for this update is the 3rd picture that I have included. I cannot believe that I have not mentioned this cup before now! It is a cup that they gave to us at orientation. As I have explained to some of you, drinking here in Australia is a way of life...much like going to work or school...it's just something they do on a daily basis...they drink alcohol. So, there is a major campaign by the government to help with alcoholism and to have some alcohol education. So, they gave out these cups. They are big here on only have a certain number of standard drinks. For women, it is 4 per day and for men, it is 6. Well, this cup that they gave us measures out standard drinks for different kinds of alcohol. There is a different line representing a standard drink for each kind. It's kind of interesting and just shows what a part of the culture drinking alcohol really is. I have not gotten really into the whole drinking thing since I've been here....which is a good thing, I think. I will enjoy an occassional beverage, but not nearly like my roommates/Australian friends take to it.

Well, other than homework and research, on tap for this weekend is running some errands since I haven't been able to do any this week and then just taking it easy on the foot so I can go full throttle again next week!

Until next time,
Cheers!
Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb