Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
June 26th 2010
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Royal Exhibition BuildingRoyal Exhibition BuildingRoyal Exhibition Building

Royal Exhibition Building - Carlton Gardens
Melbourne Getaway - spent a few days in melbourne until the taxi drivers got the better of me. I got abused by one driver who shook his head and suggested I should have walked instead. I asked another driver to take me to fitzroy gardens, and he didnt know where it was. When I mentioned captains cook cottage he had no idea what i was talking about (its about 800m from the CBD). we asked him to use his satnav, but he refused. just hopeless. I began carrying a map with me to point out the the destinations and the possible routes we should take.

Southbank was a lovely escape, visited a few gardens, the titanic exhibition and associated imax movie/doco. Went to skydeck88 and out on the 'Edge'. this is a glass cube that protrudes outside the building at the 88th floor, with you in it. The glass is opaque until your out there, then they flick it to translucent. just awesome. uninterrupted view in 5 directions of the cube, including straight down through the glass floor. Has confirmed my desire to do a tandem jump from 14K feet - cant wait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Melbourne MuseumMelbourne Museum
Melbourne Museum

Melbourne Museum - Carlton Gardens
Skydeck88Skydeck88
Skydeck88

View from the 88th floor looking east


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb