First Impressions


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
August 11th 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

CBDCBDCBD

View of CBD from Southbank
What you have been waiting for...

Here are the first of many pictures I plan to post. I have heeps more but still using public computers and it is taking a long time to upload. I think the pictures are self explanatory but basically all taken within walking distance of my apt.

I started work on Wednesday and it was just like an audit in America with a few changes in style. I have been leaving my apt. at 7:30 to catch the 8:11 train to the suburbs. I have then been getting home around 6:30. Last night (Friday) I didn't get in until 8:00 due to a cancelled train.

I'm going down to Geelong (a town about an hour away) this afternoon with a guy from work. On Sunday I will be travelling to Belarat which is a town about 2 hours away from Melbourne to work on another client. Belarat is an old mining town so I'll do my best to take photos.

I still haven't seen any wildlife but the birds sure sound strange here! I'm still in love with this city and finally adjusted from jet lag (I think).

I don't try
Bat TowerBat TowerBat Tower

Look familar?
to talk like an Australia when I talk to people here but from time to time I will pass along words and phrases I'm picking up on. It is quite fun to listen to them talk!

cheers,



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My PicMy Pic
My Pic

I know I can't believe I live here either!
Flinders Street StationFlinders Street Station
Flinders Street Station

This is the major train station. Sorta like Grand Central but just trains to the suburbs of Melbourne.
PixarPixar
Pixar

I didn't know it until I saw this but Melbourne is home to Pixar.
Federation SquareFederation Square
Federation Square

The first place I went when I arrived.
ChurchChurch
Church

Not sure the name of this church but it is beautiful
ArchitectureArchitecture
Architecture

I love Victorian Architecture


11th August 2007

Church
I think that church is St. Paul's Cathedral: http://www.stpaulscathedral.org.au/
11th August 2007

Bat Bldg
wow, i wonder if the nashville bat bldg was modeled after this one errr what :-)
14th August 2007

Hope you're having fun!! we're roasting here in Nashville, so therefore we're jealous that you are in Austrailia!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.7kb