Coming into Land


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Lakes Entrance
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The weather was lovely when I left Narooma but as I headed south the clouds rolled in and it started to rain again. On the way to Lakes Entrance I stopped off at Eden, only because the name sounded nice. It turned out to me another sleepy fishing port but was a good excuse to top up my caffeine and chocolate muffin levels. While sat in the café on the dock I was watching the pelicans who themselves were attentively watching the fishermen for any scraps that might be coming their way. As more fishermen came into port more and more pelicans were turning up. In the air they seem so graceful, effortlessly gliding their massive bodies on the wind currents. Perfectly balanced, until they come into land. Once the decision has been made to come down the prowess is over. With their feet down like airplane landing gear they very wobbly come into land, finally hitting the water with more luck than precision.

Once on the road again I didn’t stop until I got to Lakes Entrance. This fantastically named placed comes about simply as the town is on the lakes entrance. Full marks for the town council when they had to town naming meeting all those years ago!!
The hostels down here are really nice but very quiet; I was the only person staying in this one. The following morning it was still raining so I decided the best thing to do was continue to my next destination, Phillip Island.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb