Great Ocean Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Great Ocean Road
November 12th 2008
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi there,

So we moved on to the Great Ocean Road, much to the delight of the kids. And I have to be honest and say it was really 'my thing' for Oz - my idea to do it. I say that as whilst it's very impressive, it meant being in the car for 3 days. And I didn't exactly get a standing ovation when I suggested it. Anyway we strapped DVD player to back of hire car - gave Shelley kate nash on Ipod and set off.

At one rare moment when Bella actually paused her Nintendo DS, I told her that this is one of the most famous and beautiful drives in the world. 'It is really special' I said. As we continued down with some of the most awe-inspiring views (I'm trying not to say amazing, incredible, fantastic etc - see previous blogs) - she piped up... "but Daddy, when's the special road starting as I can just see the beach and the sea".
Perhaps (as Shelley suggested) it was pointless trying to build up such a grown up thing. Now if you put the blackpool lights along the trip - I guess that would do
I want to do it on my own!!I want to do it on my own!!I want to do it on my own!!

Eskine Falls: It's going to be a long walk back up...
it.

It was fab. Beautiful. And pretty windy (is that how you spell it?).

We stayed in a place called Lorne on the first night. A nice little holiday town and then the following day we moved onto the most impressive stretch of the road, including the 12 Apostles. Incredible. So much so that we booked into a nearby hotel, went for tea, and then back to the Apostles to watch the sunset. We did this for 2 reasons. Firstly, we'd read in the book that the sunset was well worth a look. Then the rough guide also gave us a hot tip - when the sun's gone down and people have packed away in their coaches - stick around as on the beach below you'll see penguins appear for the night.

So something else to build up for the kids. However, what the rough guide doesn't tell you is 'don't build this up for little kids as it get's a little cold and and these tiny little fellas are about a 100 metres below as they walk across in the dark and disappear behind some rocks. Good to see as an adult. Not so great as a 2.5 /5 year old. Noah simply couldn't see them - and Bella said she could, although we weren't so sure.

Anyway we got back in our car for one of our few australian drives at night (the period where kangaroos apparently just hop across the road whenever they fancy it) and can you believe it? The full beam wouldn't work. So after slightly nervous 20 minute drive we returned tired and relieved at our hotel.

The next day involved seeing some more quality views - and then the long drive back to Melbourne. This meant about 9 hours in the car, during which, in the latter few hours, the fact that this trip was my idea came up a few times.

It culminated with us heading into a busy un-known city where we entered a city tunnel without the appropriate toll pass, and then stayed in it for too long meaning we had to CRAWL into the city from much further out. Fighting with other cars and lots of trams, and a map that wasn't exactly helpful.

Anyway, did i say the Grat Ocean Road was impressive??

More on Melbourne shortly... xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

'The Islands''The Islands'
'The Islands'

Great Ocean Road


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb