Great Ocean Road and onto Torquay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Great Ocean Road » Torquay
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tues 4th Dec:
We planned to leave by 0800 but as I didn't wake until 0745 it was nearer 0900. We stopped for fuel and also empties the jerry can we'd carried through the outback. Got to the roundabout at the end of the road and went around it. Why am I telling you all this? Because as I went around it I heard Hayley scream from the back seat and turned to see the other passenger door open and my rucksack go flying into the road!!!! I pulled up onto the roundabout and Laz jumped out and retrieved it, my knight in shining armour!!!! Hayley had helpful grabbed the esky (sorry, cool box) so at least the food was safe!!! It was so funny, we can still laugh about it now (although maybe you had to be there.....who knows?!)
So, with 250km to Great Ocean Road and the same to Torquay it was time to drive, again! Nearing lunchtime, we tried to find Hungry Jacks (BK to the rest of the world) but all the towns were like Hicksville so we found a great burger and fish bar and got my annual fix of cholesterol in one serving!
We reached the GOR but the weather was miserable, grey, wet and windy (stop smiling!) we stopped at several lookouts and landmarks en route but the hoody had to come out. Although the Road is not that long there are so many spectacular views to see so it took us quite a while. By the end Hayley and I were happy to get to Torquay, all the twists and turns had taken there toll on our stomachs!
We checked into what seemed like the only hostel in Torquay and after some nutrious super noodles took the opportunity to sit down and chat with Laz. It was obvious to me that he wasn't happy and it was affecting the me and the trip so I made the decision to go it alone in the New Year. The feeling was mutual which was good and the feeling of relief was evident to us both.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

London BridgeLondon Bridge
London Bridge

Has fallen down
The Twelve ApostlesThe Twelve Apostles
The Twelve Apostles

Well, some of them
The PosseThe Posse
The Posse

Me, Hayley and Laz (I think I need a haircut!)
The Great Ocean RoadThe Great Ocean Road
The Great Ocean Road

and its not so great windy road!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb