Day 1. Or is that 2? Or 3?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Ballarat
October 28th 2012
Published: October 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

First view of AustraliaFirst view of AustraliaFirst view of Australia

First view of the coast of Australia taken from the camera on the tail of the plane.
Well, good morning! I am waking up after one awesome full night of sleep. We arrived here in Australia yesterday after flying first from DC to LA Friday afternoon, then LA to Melbourne on Friday night...arriving at the Melbourne Airport on Sunday morning. The flight on Qantas was amazing - a little uncomfortably crowded, but the service was the best I had had in years. Frankly, it reminded me of what flying used to be like back in the day- when Mom would dress us up to take a flight. Good food, great service - I'd definitely take Qantas again sometime.

We loaded the plane at 10:45 pm on Friday, taking off on time at 11:30 pm. A few hours later they served us a good dinner, then gave us a snack pack for the night and tucked us all in. With an amazing selection of music available through the head sets, I laid back with my pillow and blanket and fell asleep listening to The Tallis Scholars. The whole flight was quiet and dark for about 7 or 8 hours. Of course, then you realize that you're only about 2/3's of the way done, so then it was on
Melbourne AirportMelbourne AirportMelbourne Airport

I kept wanting to take pics inside the airport - and then kept seeing signs that photography was not allowed! So I snapped the first thing I found as we stepped outside the airport marking that WE ARE HERE!
to the wide selection of movies - Dark Shadows (meh) and Brave (yeh!), then breakfast, and then my first view of Australia, via the camera on the tail of the airplane - so awesome.

We arrived in Melbourne an hour ahead of time, but by the time we got through passport control and got our luggage, then got sniffed by the dogs to assure we were bringing in no bio-hazards, we were right on time! Having grown up overseas, I was suprised at how at home I felt in a huge international airport announcing flights to Bombay, Singapore, the Phillipines...As it turns out, this is the life for me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

...and another...and another
...and another

Here's the second thing I saw marking my location.


28th October 2012

Hooray! A great start!
Looking forward to details!
28th October 2012

Tail cam
Could you watch the whole flight via the tail camera? Very cool.
11th November 2012

Yes!!! Though most of the time it was night outside and not much to see.
29th October 2012

wow
Your excitement is infectious! You haven't yet left the Melbourne airport and already you are living the life...
31st October 2012

So glad you guys are having a good time. I hope it all goes well, take lots of pictures. Love Ya!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb