Cold Cradle Mountain fun


Advertisement
Published: September 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I woke up to a very cold and cloudy morning. Even though it was only 11 degrees I decided to do the walk around dove lake anyways. Good thing i'm Canadian and know how to layer up!

I drove to where the original cabin is where there is a memorial and the grave of the founder of Cradle mountain as a national park is. He was an Austrian man married to an Australian woman.

As I pulled up to do the dove lake circuit walk the clouds were obstructing my view of Cradle mountain. Good thing I came yesterday and saw it in the sunshine. I wrapped my scarf around my neck and headed off. It's a beautiful hike around the lake at the base of Cradle Mountain.

It's meant to be a 2 hour walk but I did it in 2.5 hours with my bad feet. Pretty good. By the end I was so cold and ready to get into my warm little car! I ate lunch in the car. I decided to make way to the town of Strahan on the west coast. I passed by a dam and stopped to take some pictures.

I got to Strahan in the afternoon and the power was out so I hopped in the car to do some sight seeing. It was very cold and windy today so I didn't do a whole lot. I drove up to a lookout over Strahan and then over to the beach. It's a very picturesque town, would be much nicer in the sun.

The power was back on and I grabbed some groceries and headed to the hostel. There was only me and one other guest in the hostel. So quiet! He was a guy from Perth so we had a good chat about things. I had a room to myself so I headed to bed early and read my book. Back to Hobart tomorrow


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb