Eyre Peninsular and Venus Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Eyre Peninsula » Venus Bay
September 11th 2015
Published: September 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Port Augusta, I travelled over 300 kms the next day through wonderful blue bush Eyre Peninsular country. Lost telephone coverage a couple of times on this piece of road, that’s the first time this trip. But not for long, it reappeared at each town. The trip across the top of the Eyre Peninsular is through diverse country. Up until you reach Kimba, it is dry land, blue bush scrub. This is the area around Iron Knob.

But suddenly, as you crest a small hill in the road, a beautiful green and gold valley studded with shinny white silos and grain storage facilities opens up before your eyes. The next 100 or so kilometers is some of the richest and best grain growing land in South Australia. I then travelled the Eyre Highway as far as a secondary road turn off to Port Kenny and travelled another 100 kms or so south west, ending up here in Venus Bay.

Of all the places that I have ever visited or stayed in on previous trips around Australia, Venus Bay has always loomed the largest and fondest in my memory. I was therefore unable to pass this way without coming back again. But equally I was somewhat apprehensive. What if it had changed, been “developed”, or gobbled up by progress and was no longer as I remembered.

Miraculously and wonderfully all these fears were instantly allayed as I drove in. Venus Bay is exactly the same as it was 8 years ago (or was it 10, I cannot remember). The only thing that has changed is certainly for the better. I now have phone and internet access here. Well done Optus! I love it and instantly decided to stay 2 nights. Then, when offered a fourth night for free if I stayed and paid for 3 nights, it was a done deal. And here I am until Sunday 13th September when I will (reluctantly) leave and head off for the Nullabor.

The water is still a magic blue. The water still teems with schools of fish. The pelicans are overfriendly and the sea gulls dependent on the fishermen who gather here for all their meals (sadly!). The people are wonderful. The caravan kiosk staff are helpful, fun and lovely. I have enquired after and been told about people I met here on my last visit (8-10 years ago) who still regularly come and stay here. Its been a bit like coming home. I’ve been lent a rod to go fishing with (because I told someone I had left mine at home). I’ve been given fresh caught whiting fillets (dinner tonight). And, last night the wind blew in from the ocean and caused my back door tent to collapse, and me to get out in the middle of the night to put my awning away. Yep … nothing in Venus Bay has changed. There is definitely a time warp here, and I love it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



12th September 2015

Venus Bay
Hi Di, That looks a lovely part of the country. Have not explored over there, but am sure it will be on our list! Enjoy the Nullabor, look forward to hearing your next adventure! Cheers Annette
13th September 2015

nullabor
Monday morning so guessing you are just setting out on the Nullarbor cross. With your positive attitude, I am sure you will find plenty to look at and enjoy. Hope you find some friendly camps at night and have a good journey across!!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb