My dream has now come true...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Coober Pedy
April 20th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I love it...I love it...I love it...

I was full of excitement on the day of going to Coober Pedy, found my flag too on the sign...
I can't believe I have now been to Coober Pedy. After so many months of wanting to go to this little town I now have! It had a quirky little atmosphere, with people's front doors being on the side of large rocks, leading you to an underground house...we did a tour in one of them and the temperature is just right, you can't hear any sound from outside, and it is completely pitch black with no lights, allowing you to sleep well at any time of the day.

There are so many different nationalities living here, all in hope to pursue their dream of finding opals. (coober pedy is the world's capital for opals) I did a tiny bit of noodling, which is where you search in the heaps that they leave behind from mining, and I found a little one but it isn't worth much at all...ahaha...still it was cool to find something...

Me and this girl called Sarit went to look at the underground church, it was so strange but had a good atmosphere. I would love to live in this town for a while, if I knew anything about mining that is...although...i'm not sure if I
My new house...My new house...My new house...

I could so imagine myself living in a place like this. I loved it all being underground...
could stand the flies that are constantly in your face. It's not too pretty seeing the world through a fly net...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Not a sign you'd see often...Not a sign you'd see often...
Not a sign you'd see often...

This sign made me laugh...especially as in the first picture it looks like they've been pushed in...which wouldn't suprise me in this competitive opal mining town...
A must for the outback...A must for the outback...
A must for the outback...

I think I would have actually gone crazy if I hadn't of bought my fly net, made a fool of myself though when I went to eat my sandwich with it still on...


27th April 2006

oh lucy you do make me laugh...even with you being 15000 miles away as I found out from your last blog...wow that sounds so far!!!! I now have visions of you trying to eat your sandwich with you fly net on...hahahahahah.....cheering me up loads through my exams you are. Nice to see you looking so happy, take care xxx layla xxx
27th April 2006

Wonderful to see you.
It was great to read and see you looking SAFE AND SOUND!!!!!!! Your outback adventure must have been fantastic. Also how lovely your Adelaide family look.......no you cant bring back the kittens.....even though they look soo cute. Maybe ask Deb ???? Our love and prayers are with you always, take care, mum and dad xxx

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb