Car lover's heaven


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Birdwood
January 17th 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

In our blood!In our blood!In our blood!

My brother (with his HQ panelvan) and me (with my 67 HR wagon) back in 1997!!!
Birdwood National Motor Museum

I wouldn't call myself a rev head, I don't know a great deal about cars, but boy did I love this place! I just love the old classic cars. My first car was a 1967 HR Holden stationwagon, mint green and a damn fine automobile. I loved that car and I miss that car. My brother and I were both into the old cars, his was a series of classic's including a holden kingswood, Kombi van, and his pride and joy, a holden panel van which he restored from just a car body! I remember going with him the day that he brought it and saying to him, 'don't you dare buy that car, it's not even a car, just a car body'! Well I ate my words because today he still has that panel van and it is a terrific car.

The National Motor Museum was an unbelievable look back through time at our motoring history. It's amazing how far we have come. I couldn't not go there. The Museum is home to Australia's largest and most important collection of motor vehicles and is considered to be one of the best of its kind
1958 FC Holden1958 FC Holden1958 FC Holden

National Motor Museum
in the world. Vehicles on display include the very first automobiles right up to cars that are maybe going to be our future, running on solar power and energy efficient fuels. Since I have been in Adelaide I have noticed that they really love their cars down here and I have never seen so many old classics on the road.

Rather then rattle on about cars I just thought I would put a whole bunch of photos up that give you an idea of what there is to see here. You can even try to pass the 1950's licence test! This is the same test that aspiring motorist's had to sit in order to get a licence back in the 1950's. The funny thing is that they only had to sit the test, no practical exam had to be undertaken, which is both interesting and alittle scary when you think about it. And for the record, I passed the 1950's licence test with a score of 100%!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Classic 1959 Chrysler RoyalClassic 1959 Chrysler Royal
Classic 1959 Chrysler Royal

National Motor Museum
ChargerCharger
Charger

National Motor Museum
PanelvansPanelvans
Panelvans

National Motor Museum
Now that's an interior!Now that's an interior!
Now that's an interior!

Panelvan 'Midnight Express' National Motor Museum
Wicked paint job on Panel vanWicked paint job on Panel van
Wicked paint job on Panel van

National Motor Museum
MGMG
MG

National Motor Museum
1970 Lamborghini Muira1970 Lamborghini Muira
1970 Lamborghini Muira

Model and Actress, Twiggy, ordered the customised paintwork on this little sportscar.
1967 HR Holden sedan1967 HR Holden sedan
1967 HR Holden sedan

National Motor Museum
1960 Dodge Phoenix1960 Dodge Phoenix
1960 Dodge Phoenix

V8 American power National Motor Museum
1956 FJ Holden1956 FJ Holden
1956 FJ Holden

National Motor Museum
ValiantValiant
Valiant

National Motor Museum
Waiting roomWaiting room
Waiting room

Old cars found in sheds and fields that are awaiting restoration
1934 Ford Coupe Utility1934 Ford Coupe Utility
1934 Ford Coupe Utility

National Motor Museum
The DelorianThe Delorian
The Delorian

The 'Back to the Future' car National Motor Museum


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb