Does the sun ever stop shining


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Yeppoon
July 6th 2011
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hervey BayHervey BayHervey Bay

Another Sunset at Hervey Bay
Three months on the road is getting very close now and with the goal I set myself being 4months, it looks like I will do this with ease (hmmm did I just jinx myself???) I’m now in a town called Yeppoon, which many may never have heard of and to tell you the truth you aren't missing a whole lot. Don't get me wrong, this is a pretty little beachside town but it seriously lacks something and I can’t quite put my finger on it. Sure it’s possible my opinion was marred somewhat by the most disgusting fish and chips I’ve ever had in Cooee Bay (great Aussie name though) or maybe it’s from the lack lustre expressions on the faces of disinterested travellers I have met here. Whatever the case, there’s a good chance I won’t pass through this place again, unless to stop by this little cafe that had the best chocolate brownie I have ever eaten, which has become the redeeming quality I have settled on to get me through til Friday.
On the way here Steve and I visited a little settlement called Agnes Waters and 1770. Well 1770 was gorgeous, unfortunately it was booked out so
177017701770

Picturesque views at 1770
I will swing past on my way back down the coast of QLD in the months ahead. Previous to this I spent time in Hervey Bay. With the notion that I would be there for a night passing through, I found myself there for two and half weeks, staying in Scarness Tourist Park. This old park sat right on the water front showcasing beautiful ocean views that extended out to Fraser Island. The owners of the park, Marilyn and Phil were so lovely and welcoming and were part of the reasons worth staying. As always I spent days on the beach, which is now my opportunity to apologize for all the photos of beaches and sunsets you will find in my blog. But if it’s not photos of that it will be pictures of big hairy men or women that I massage and work with, or more photos of me looking like I’m storing nuts for the winter in my chubby checks, so you tell me what you would prefer...nothing is always an option I suppose? The weather in Hervey Bay turned up the heat during the day, almost hot enough to swim in, but those who know me best
Me eatingMe eatingMe eating

No one's watching
will remember I don’t swim in the ocean unless it’s over 35degrees, so instead I sweltered on the beach reading. To keep me entertained at the park (and all parks along the esplanade which could be heard on a Sunday arvo walk) was a guest performer, who’s name escapes me now, but the sweet old man belted out tunes from Elvis, Neil Young and other completely dated performers, while other oldies sat in their fold-out chairs on the driveway to hear this rock legend at work. Now that’s what I should have got photos of! To assist the bank balance was work, which came my way in this retirement town which was a nice interlude from all the beach going and to make it even more exciting, was Steve joining me in Hervey Bay and up the coast here for 10days. With Iris now having a second visitor after Michelle, it’s always fun to have someone on a road trip...even if it’s just so they can take photos of me being a little piggy eating in the driver’s seat. As you can see from the photo, being love-struck hasn’t impaired my appetite or my lady-like ways of shovelling food in as though it’s my last meal. Must be true love if he hasn’t run a mile yet!
Friday will see me driving off to greener pastures as I make my way closer to Airlie Beach, stopping through Mackay to visit some friends if opportunity makes it possible and on to Cape Hillsborough, where I am told there is likely to be no phone, internet of GPS reception...that’s fine because I haven’t yet forgiven Angie (my useless GPS) anyway


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb