...Here in Heaven...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
October 25th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

10/25/08
I have to apologize for the delay in updating this, as I’m sure you’ve been dying from anticipation (hehe yeah right). As I move through Asia, I can imagine it’ll only get worse, but please bear with me. I feel like I have been flying around for the past week or so without much downtime. Whenever someone asks how long I’ve been traveling, it’s always surprising to me to say that it’s only been a few weeks, because it feels like a really long time already. I feel like my first few days in Christchurch were years away, and I think it’s because of the wealth of experiences you have every single day of traveling. I think some people feel like travelers get lazy, but it’s kind of the opposite; every day is different and you are always planning and adapting, while when we are in consistent work or school environments, weeks pass without notice because our minds are set in routine.


Walking along the dock towards the craft that would take us around the Whitsundays, I briefly thought, “why am I doing this again? I don’t like boats…” My first view of the British Defender also
Window shotWindow shotWindow shot

The drive from Cairns to Airlie Beach
gave me some misgivings; how could 30 plus people fit into such a boat? The 83 foot yacht was to be our home for the next 2 days and 2 nights (from Thursday the 16th until Saturday the 18th). It was wonderful to get underway from Abel Point Marina in perfect weather and to see the enormous sails raised above the boat. The crew of four enlisted the help of passengers for “grinding” and raising the sails. Our first destination was Blue Pearl Bay off of Hayman Island, where we dropped anchor and enjoyed the sunset and dinner.


In the morning we were fitted with wetsuits for protection from jellyfish and went snorkeling just off the shore of the island. It wasn’t quite as spectacular as in the Outer Reef, but still wonderful and we saw huge Maori Wrasse and my other fluorescent wrasse friends. I’m a big fan of wetsuits too…I wish I could wear one all the time! The sail to Whitsunday Island that followed was absolutely incredible. There was a high wind warning that day and our boat was heeling over to a nearly 45 degree angle as everyone sat along the top edge and dangled their feet over the side. We stopped at Tongue Bay, and after lunch went ashore to see the famed Whitehaven Beach. I felt like I had walked into a postcard…the view at the top of the short hike was absolutely breathtaking. White sands rimmed emerald green islands and met brilliant turquoise blue water. Everything was pristine, all that could be seen was a few boats. As we ran out across the rippling white sand I felt like I was in another world. The photos don’t do the place justice but they certainly do a better job than my descriptions.


I felt like everything was too short- snorkeling ended before I was ready to go, and we only had an hour to enjoy the beach. Still, this couldn’t be avoided since we were supposed to be seeing as much as we could of the over 74 islands. Our dinner the second night was at Nara Inlet on Hook Island. We were fed really well every day and I even got special vegetarian meals. The crew really knew what they were doing and Captain Jeff was great. I was certainly impressed by the Whitsundays…it had been a beautiful trip.




Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Sexy suits!Sexy suits!
Sexy suits!

Strangely, I haven't seen anyone wearing these...


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb