Airlie Beach and Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
November 4th 2007
Published: November 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Airlie beach hostelAirlie beach hostelAirlie beach hostel

Looks very nice, but the 11 bed dorm had no windows and no fresh air ! Luckily I got a 4 bed dorm when I returned from my sailing.
Airlie Beach is the town where most people depart for a sailing trip to the Whitsunday islands and specially the breathtaking Whitehaven beach at the main Whitsunday island.

I met some people at Airlie beach that I met before up north and it seemed to be a common thing. Well actually you often meet and see people again since most are migrating south, just at different speeds.

I had to select from 80 boats to find a suitable one and my pick was a katamaran which would do lots of diving and stay on the ocean for 3 days and 3 nights.
The boat departed in the evening and next day we went to Whitehaven beach which must be one of the world most beatiful beaches.
At the Whitehaven beach, there is a small river floating out into the ocean and it was creating a meander river which went like a snake back and forth and the whole beach is made of very pure and fine white sand creating an astonishing view 😊
Unfortunately it was stinger (stinging jellyfish) season, so you had to put a stinger suit on if you wanted to go swimming 😞

Next we sailed away towards the outer barrier reef and did a dive along the way close to Maureen bay.
Most people did introduction dives and some did an advanced course and it was just me and another who did fun dives. The visibility was not that good and didn't see anything special.

2nd day we went diving at the outer barrier reef at the site Stepping Stones. Nice place, but didn't see anything special here either even if I was hoping to see some sharks or at least a turtle.

3rd at a sheltered bay between islands and just did snorkeling at the bay where turtles were often supposed to be seen. Luckily I saw one after couple of hours of snorkeling 😊 I seen them before, but still there is something about seeing one.

Back at Airlie beach the next day there was some street parade after which I went to the lagoon to bake in the sun until my bus left.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Abby, me and RobinAbby, me and Robin
Abby, me and Robin

Can't be at an amazing beach without pretty girls can I :)
8 in the morning the last day8 in the morning the last day
8 in the morning the last day

People are a bit tired by now from all the sun and diving
Few going diving the last dayFew going diving the last day
Few going diving the last day

Kathy's brother, crew, Esther?, Kyle
Snorkeling in sexy stinger suitsSnorkeling in sexy stinger suits
Snorkeling in sexy stinger suits

Katie, Robin, me, Abby, Maureen, Sean and Alison.
Booty shotBooty shot
Booty shot

Something for the ladies to dream of ;)
Me basking in the sunMe basking in the sun
Me basking in the sun

Many burnt themselves in the sun during our 3 days, but I seemed to have enough sun tan to begin with to avoid sunburns
Katie doing some booty shakingKatie doing some booty shaking
Katie doing some booty shaking

Whats a better place to shake your booty then at Whitsundays?
Last breafing before portLast breafing before port
Last breafing before port

Front: Katie, Christian, Abby, Robin Back: Crew, Kyle, Christoph


6th December 2007

Solbränna
Du ser lite vitare ut på de här bilderna än på de senare. Solen verkar ha gjort dig gott :-)

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb