Whatsundays? Whitsundays!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
February 7th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!
Hope all's good with you. Things have been pretty hectic of late! Last time I left you I was travelling from Hervey Bay to Airlie Beach having just completed the Fraser Island drive. Alas! I ran into a few complications!
Our (me, Emily, Hannah, Liz, John and Chris from the Fraser trip) intention was to arrive at Airlie Beach a day before our scheduled trip to the Whitsundays (booked and paid for). Lonely Planet forget to mention that sometimes Queensland encounters freakish wet seasons!!!! (you're going down LP!). Emily and I were on a seperate coach that got stuck at a service station for 9hrs having been on a coach all night, waiting to see if the roads would clear from flooding. They didn't. So we managed to meet the girls and the boys booked us into a motel in Mackay (the town that civilisation forgot). We got the cider in though and had a tv. Bliss! (until I fell asleep in bed with a cider in my hand. Hope the motel don't think that it was pee on the matress!) Managed to get a random emergency bus up to Airlie Beach the next morning and make our boat trip by the skin of my stress!
Once on the long desired boat trip we soon longed for dry land as sea sickness and lack of sleep from Fraser and coaches set in. However, things got gooooood!
We went on a trek (in the pooring rain) to a cave with aboriginal drawings then to a huge waterfall on Hook Island. A walk not for the faint hearted. Waterlogged trainers have been disposed of.
The next day I went scuba diving off the Great Barrier Reef! Get in! Unfortunately I couldn't do it for long as I couldn't equalise the pressure in my ears, which meant my head felt like it was gonna explode. But I did see some amazing fish! I then snorkelled off the back of the boat. Huge Bat Fish came along and I fed, played with and stroked them. They're pretty tame. Then later on I met George (a bump headed Maori Wrasse). He was Huge!!! Fed him some fruit bread and had a play.
Upon returning to dry land (feeling wet and smelly - no showers again) Helen, Ashley and Rachel were waiting for me at the harbour with their campervan. So after a farewell with Emily, Hannah and Liz I jumped into the SunSeeker van.
The trip to Cairns has been vacated due to weather and we're heading back down south to Byron and Brisbane. On the plus side we're stopping at all the places I missed seeing on the way up. I'm currently at Rainbow Beach (warm water and white sands!) and have stopped in Rockhampton (a relative of the town of Mackay in the civilisation stakes). We're going to Noosa today which has lots of shops, beaches and is where the rich and famous holiday. Maybe my beloved Kelly Jones will be waiting with his guitar for me........
So that's my life up to date. Going to New Zealand next week and catching up with some of my Kiwi friends. My search for a hobbit will begin...........(totally avoiding Mordor. Looks rubbish there!)
Take care everyone. Please leave messages/comments as it makes me happy.
Love Bex
xxxxxxxx

Advertisement



9th February 2007

I have seen the new episode of Lost
Hi mate, Glad to hear you escaped the flooding - last time I spoke to you you sounded quite enraged. So you are off with Helen and co? Good times. Say hi from me. Hope you got a camera sorted - "I can't even remember what Phoebe looks like." All ok here - have week off next week which will be ace, plus the family coming up to London tomorrow for my Dad's birthday. Leo, Ali and I watched Lost last night which was BRILLIANT. It has lured me right back in. Some great heroics from Jack and Sawyer (former remains the Davies favourite, you can keep neanderthal type). Anyway, hope you are going to return at some point - keep me updated. Take care mate and lots of love, Mads xxx

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb