It's been a while!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
November 20th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, it's been a while since we have updated the blog because we have just been so busy. We are now in Oz but have to finish off our NZ story before we give you the update about here. We teased you a little with our adrenaline junkie story and it's safe to say I think sky diving is about as adrenaline packed as it gets. I bet most of you thought you would never read anything saying I went sky diving but I have the photos and dvd to prove it.
Queenstown is the adventure capital of the world and if you are going to do anything mad this is the place to do it. If they haven't thought of it here it isn't worth doing. On our first morning we woke up to a glorious, cloudless day and Mark decided that this was optimum conditions for a skydive. Before i had a chance to think about it we had booked in and been told to come back in an hour. As you can imagine I didn't think breakfast was a good idea that morning as I wasn't sure if it would make a reappearance in one form or another! We had a briefing at the shop (by which point I was catatonic with fear and Mark was taking it in his stride) and then headed for the drop zone. Mark went in a seperate plane because he jumped from 15000feet and I did a measly 12000. We met some really nice people and had a great laugh while we were waiting to go up. Unfortunately, I was in the last group which didn't do alot for my nerves. I watched my lovely husband descend from the sky and he reassured me it would be fine. I wore my 'Pants of Power' on top of my jump suit which really seemed to amuse the instructors. They kept saying I was mad and I kept thinking that wearing pants on top of my clothes was without doubt the least mad thing about my day. The plane was tiny and you had to sit on the floor. As we climbed I was nearly crying at every little bump but if anything was to go wrong I guess having a parachute was a good place to be. When it was finally time I just couldn't wait to get on with it. The views were totally amazing. We jumped over a range of mountains called the Remarkables and they were remarkable. Once your free fall is over you really get a chance to take in the scenery and I can't think of a better place to do it. Hopefully we will upload some of our pics soon but don't worry we will bore you all with the dvd when we get back.

The next day we went on a trip to the Milford Sound. It is called Fjiord land and is a world heritage site. It took us ages to get there but the journey was part of the trip and we saw some spectucular mountains. Thankfully the avalanche warning for that day was low. We went on a boat trip through the Sound and then we went to an underwater observatory. It was a great day but took 12 hours to get there and back. We planned to go river boarding the next day which is were you go through river rapids on a boogie board. We thought we would just have a few light refreshments and then head home for an early night. Oh yeah, that was until we realised it was after 3am and we had drank the pub dry of tequilla. The next morning the guy on the reception desk of the hostel took one look at us and advised us that river boarding is really physical and not a good idea with a hangover. I wonder if it was the bloodshot eyes, deathly pallor or stink of alcohol which gave the game away!!. Not that it mattered because we spent a chilled out day in the sun having a picnic and taking in the scenery.

From Queenstown we headed up to Christchurch for a few nights. We had already been told Christchurch was very english but to be honest it was much like any other city. We took a trip out to a little place on the coast called Akaroa. It was a really gorgeous little bay with lovely cafes and galleries. The real reason we went though was so I could go and swim with dophins. In this part of NZ they have little dolphins called Hectors dolphins and they can only be found here. They only grow to around 1.2m long and were totally adorable. We were so lucky because not long out of the harbour two dolphins started swimming around the boat. We all got in and then another three came to investigate. They swam round and round for nearly an hour and they were so playful. You aren't allowed to touch them but they come really close and jump out of the water. Mark stayed on the boat and took pics. It was a wonderful experience. That day had been a big race meet in Christchurch (sort of like the Grand National). You can imagine my horror that night when we went out in jeans and pac-a-macs only to be surrounded by people dressed to the max in dresses, hats and suits. Safe to say we were home early.

From Christchurch we headed to Sydney and then up the coast to Cairns. Cairns is in Queensland Aus and is described as the tropical north. At the moment there is a cyclone sitting off the coast of northern Australia which is causing pretty shocking weather. We woke up in Cairns expecting to see blue skies and crystal waters but instead it was rainy, dull and very humid. It didn't stop us though and we booked a trip out onto the barrier reef. I was a little worried when everyone kept saying that it would be rough. I just thougt how rough can it be????? Billy and Christine if you are reading this it is safe to say that you would have been very ill before we even made it out of port!!!! It took 1hr to get there and it was up and down all the way. When we arrived at the reef it was a little dissapointing because the water wasn't the lovely blue you would expect, just because it was so dull. Mark did two dives and I snorkelled. Its a real shame because the barrier reef has become like DisneyLand. We saw huge boats go out with 300 or more Japanese tourists, cameras at the ready. With the result the reef is pretty much dead and there isn't alot to see. However, you couldn't go to Cairns which is the gateway to reef and not see it. We met some really nice people on the trip so that was also a bonus. The rest of our stay in Cairns was pretty uneventful and we were glad to pick up our car and head for Townsville in search of sunshine.

We had a really nice little room in Townsville last night and just chilled out. Today we caught the ferry to Magnetic Island. It is a little rocky island only 20mins from the mainland and is surrounded by white sand beaches. When we arrived we hired a lovely little open topped car. Much to my delight and I am sure Marks horror (although he said nothing) the only one that was available then was a pink one. The man said we could wait and I reassured Mark I didn't mind waiting for a more normal coloured one but my fab husband said he knew I really wanted the pink on. It's like being Barbie and Ken, I love it. We took a tour round the island - it took ten minutes and settled in at the resort. Just a few minute walk from the resort is a group of rocks where little rock wallabies live. They are like small kangaroos, well actually a bit like large jumping rats but i am trying not to focus on that. We went and fed them and they come right up and take the food out of your hands. It was great fun till a big gang of them gathered and I was slighty freaked out. Mark was no help because he was too busy taking photos. Tomorrow we are going to go on a little nature walk and cuddle koalas and alligators (supervised of course) I am going to ask if I can hold the alligator like a handbag - not sure if that will be allowed but i am sure I could buy the real thing in Hong Kong. No, seriously I am definately exploring my inner animal lover. It's taking a while to come out but I am trying my best. We went for a swim in the pool here and beautiful green and red parrots were flying over head. Then as we went for dinner a Kookabora (don't know how to spell it but you know the ones 'that sit up the old gum tree) pinched a sausage of someones plate. Tell you what it better not steal food from Mark if it knows whats good for it!!! Then a cockateel was sitting up in a tree making a total racket. We feel like David Attemborough!!!!

That's all for now folks. Sorry it's been such a long one but had loads of our fabulous adventure to tell you. As the Aussies say 'No worries' and chat to you all again soon.

Advertisement



20th November 2007

Lucky you
Sounds like you are both having a fab time. Enjoy the remaining time you have in such wonderful places. Christine
20th November 2007

Lovin' the 'handbag' comment.. Made me laugh!! Glad to hear you're still working it out in the land of the flip-flop!
21st November 2007

Chicago is waiting!!!!!!
I was thinking that you gays can stop at Chicago on your way home. I would love to see this Sky Diving DVD becouse I can not bolive you. I am glad that you gags OK.
21st November 2007

mrs anonymous again
it sounds like such an adventure, im enjoying your updates (you make arbroath sound so exotic:) You explain it so well i can just picture you both. Keep livin the dream;)

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb