Getting used to life on the road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
May 30th 2019
Published: June 3rd 2019
Edit Blog Post

We stayed with a friend in Townsville who showed us a picture of a queue people edging along a tiny ridge approaching the peak of Everest. It can take up to two months to acclimatise enough to attempt a climb the summit. Climbers arrive at base camp, trek to the first level then back down again, up two levels then back to base camp. The body needs time to adjust to the altitude and new environment it finds itself in. We’re not climbing Everest but we are still going through a period of adjustment.



The boys fight with each other every morning. It’s become like some sort of ritual. Wake up, bicker, eat breakfast, get on with the day. They niggle each other over trivial matters like a couple of old grumpy kangaroos. At first Jason and I tried to keep them apart, reason with them, I yelled at them a couple of times, got frustrated and even probably lost my shit. It really tests your tolerance putting up with kids fighting in a caravan, especially before coffee. Now we just ignore it and it settles on its own.



We’ve been through some challenging days. Living in such close confines to each other take some adjusting. It’s hard on the boys too when they only have each other most of the time. Jason and I have had a few tense words and silent hours. I can recall when we started travelling around Australia the first time- BC. Jason and I had only been together a few years. I phoned mum from a phone-box (it was a while ago) and cried down the line to her saying that I didn’t think our relationship would last. There’s been times over the first few weeks of this trip I’ve wished I could phone mum again to tell her that maybe this has all been a big mistake and how on earth are we going to survive the year. I know exactly what she’d say too. Nothing. She’d just listen and then maybe even change the topic. That would be enough for me to see that actually, this is normal. Any big change involves a period of adjustment and it will pass (or simmer at least).



Some things have been easy to adjust to: eating our breakfasts together as a family, having a cup of tea in bed in the morning (thanks Jason), reading more books, having less stuff. Some things have been a bit more challenging. It’s starting to settle now, and we feel like we’re finding our groove. Charles has found the lack of routine pretty tricky, so we are making sure we plan at least a few days in advance, and I’ve gone back to using a whiteboard planner in the van. Pack up and move on days are the worst. This transition should be exciting as we head out to find a new place to explore but it’s often met with anxiety and difficult behaviours. He’s able to voice his concerns more now as the trip goes on and will ask for photos to give him an idea of what the next place will be like. Thank goodness for the internet! This too is part of our reason for travelling. To get us out of our comfort zone and regular routine and to be more flexible with our plans. So far, we’re doing ok.



We’ve kept some things the same. Pizza movie night still occurs on a Friday night. The boys love this part of the weekly routine, they always have. Last time I made their pizzas in the shape of Australia. Oliver loved his but Charles was a bit more resistant: “Mum it looks great but next time can I just have a circle please” – small steps. I’m getting there with my pizza dough too. It’s a bit harder to stuff up than the bread bricks I’ve made so far. The boys have their own space in the van, it’s only about 1.6m by 1.2m but it’s their space. To this point we have also allowed Oliver to continue eating the most expensive cereal in the supermarket.



We’re taking things pretty slow as well. Taking our time at most spots and forgiving ourselves if we’re not extreme off-road free campers all the time. I’ve stopped reading other people’s blogs with tales of adventure and savvy budgeting and begun to see this as just our journey. To not compare myself to others is a challenge for me and source of eternal stress for poor Jason. I’m beginning to enjoy this journey as our journey and hopefully in the process find the confidence to follow our own path.



Since my first entry we have enjoyed a variety of experiences. We’ve been fossicking for sapphires at Sapphire, camped on a dam near Clermont, spent some time beach camping at Cape Hillsborough, enjoyed the beaches of Bowen and explored Townsville and surrounds.



We’re now spending a few weeks catching up with my northern QLD brothers. We’ve loved staying a couple of nights in friends houses but we are also beginning to love our new home, the van. As Charles said to me the other day: “Mum I like sleeping in the van because I know my bed is on the right and it’s always the one on the right.” Adjusting and being flexible can be achieved as long as there are some consistencies amongst the chaos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 20; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb