Thinking about China


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Sunshine Coast » Maroochydore
April 3rd 2012
Published: April 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

A couple of weeks ago I picked up a book based in India, from the library. The story was about an Irish alcoholic who meets a budhist monk while he's travelling the East drinking himself silly. The monk turns out to be his saving grace and after a bucket load more beers and much deep spiritual soul searching, the drunk dries himself out and joins the monk in the monastery. Ten years later, he's doing well..., up early... chanting and praying, eating rice, living lean and completely off the booze.

One afternoon when he's out and about on monk business he meets an Australian photographer who is in India for a Memorial celebration. The monk's deeply buried passions are aroused and they fall in love.

Travels and experiences of the wonders of India follow and then..., the monk falls off the wagon, the photographer leaves him, and he drinks himself to an early death.

Anyway...

It got me to thinking about travelling on my own, which then led me to thinking about travelling and teaching English. When I was younger the thought of travelling in India grossed me out! All that phlegm! Yuck! But now that I am a mature woman, I am thinking I can overlook spit in favour of a life changing cultural experience.

Google (I love Google , Google knows everything) told me that India is too poor a country to pay people to teach English there, but China?, China pays people like me to work there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb