Diving on Calypso - Port Douglas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
April 26th 2010
Published: April 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today is Anzac day so instead of working I managed to get a free trip to the reef on a boat called Calypso. Now that I'm working at the hostel I get to go on all the tours for free, because I need to know what the tour is like to be able to sell it to our guests. So it was such a great day! Got picked up at 8.30am by Andy, and we went to the boat. Things are really quiet here still so there were only 12 people on board - they can take 100 so I was very lucky. Our skipper was Chris and Katie was the snorkle guide. I decided to go diving for the first time, and I ended up being the only diver, so I had one on one tuition - how lucky is that! Sometimes the classes can be 30 people, but today it was just me and Steve. I snorkelled at the first site, then we moved to another site. I got all kitted up in the gear, and then in we went. We did a couple of little things while holding the anchor rope - like taking the regulator out of your mouth and then putting it back in underwater, and filling your mask up with water and emptying it underwater. After that - free to go baby! We swam around to 30 minutes looking at all the coral and the fish, and generally having a fantastic time. I found I was smiling so much I kept getting water in my mouth - not cool! After the dive we had lunch, then went snorklling on our third site, which was my favorite as far as fish and coral went. I was only able to dive once, but have decided to get my diving ticket asap. I phoned a guy that Andy recommended and he's dropping off my 'homework' tonight so I can study tomorrow, and then we'll work on getting me qualified over the next couple of weeks. Andy said Gary (the dive instructor guy) is a real aussie bloke - smart arse and chocolate arm - so we should get on well. I've already managed to get him to knock the price down from $680 to $500 for me, so I think we'll get on fine!

Port Douglas is great - I'm really enjoying being here and am making the most of the free stuff when I can. My goal is to do 1 free thing each week, and that's been working out ok for the past few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



26th April 2010

Water Baby
You are turning into quite a water baby Vicki. I'm very impressed.

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb