Noosa and Australia Zoo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa
January 19th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Noosa has been one of my favourite places. The beach is surrounded by rainforest and a national park. I stayed at the koala resort which despite the lack of aircon was very good. The bar was a lot of fun even if it did close at midnight. My first day was spent doing the usual exploring and a drink in the bar with a Mexican night meaning tasty cheap tucker! The second day I met a French guy called Joss who walked around the national park with me. It was a very hot day but the shade of the trees kept us cool most of the time. I was on the look out for koalas but unfortunately did see any. The costal path had stunning scenery looking from the tops of cliffs over the bay and Pacific. That night there was a guest appearance from a local legend, T-Bone! Picture the scene, the lights dimmed, you could see the outline of some limbering up on the dance floor. There is an announcement “Ladies and gentlemen I give you T-Bone” the light come up just as the eye of the tiger starts. And there in the middle of the dance floor is
Coastal PathCoastal PathCoastal Path

A solitary tree growing on the face of the cliff
a middle aged short pissed ozzie flaying his arms around in time with the music. It was a great laugh!

My last day in Noosa was spent at Australia Zoo, the home of Steve Irwin. Unfortunately the man himself wasn’t there but it was still a great day. I went with Wendy and Sharon who I met earlier. The day started by feeding the elephants, walking the wombats and watching the Snake and Tiger show in the Crocotarium. The zoo is huge and all the animals seem happy. The kangaroo enclosure was one of my favourites as you could walk around with and feed the kangaroos. I held a koala, which got me back by dropping a nugget on my foot! And the climax of the day was the croc feeding. All in all, a very good day. The park is all about Irwin but was entertaining at the same time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Hells GateHells Gate
Hells Gate

Along the coastal path in Noosa
Me TazanMe Tazan
Me Tazan

A vine in the jungle reacing up into the canopy
Pool CompPool Comp
Pool Comp

On the 2nd night I took part in a hostel pool comp, but got knocked out in the final.
T-BoneT-Bone
T-Bone

The legend himself on the dancefloor
Walking With WombatsWalking With Wombats
Walking With Wombats

like with wolves....but a little slower!
TigerTiger
Tiger

I caught him in mid-flight
Chillin' with the roosChillin' with the roos
Chillin' with the roos

A marsupial after my own heart
Irwin the man himself (nearly)Irwin the man himself (nearly)
Irwin the man himself (nearly)

Wendy, me, steve and Sharon
KoalasKoalas
Koalas

In thier natural state....sleeping
Koala cuddlingKoala cuddling
Koala cuddling

just before the puppy nugget hits my toe
CrocsCrocs
Crocs

Well acutally this is an american alligator being fed
4x4 with steve4x4 with steve
4x4 with steve

Just getting some practise in before Fraser with the mqan himself, crickey!


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb