Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa Heads
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our final week was spent in Byron Bay and Noosa Heads. By this point we were really running low on our budget for Oz so we didn't do an awful lot. We arrived in Byron Bay at around eight o'clock in the morning after catching the night bus from Sydney. The journey wasn't too bad, slept for most of it but kept waking up with a numb bum!! Woke up at one point and we must have been travelling through the country as it was pitch black. The stars looked amazing, I have never seen them looking so big and bright! After checking in at our hostel we headed out to get some breakfast as we weren't able to get into our room until about half eleven. I had one of the best bacon and egg rolls I have ever eaten in my life, the amount of bacon that they put in my roll was unbeleivable!

So after breakfast we went back to the hostel and hung around for an hour or so, I kept dropping off sitting at a table (I don't think I've ever slept so much in my life as I have on this trip - as I said before, its all that sunshine... or so I keep telling myself). We were in a five bedroom dorm and we were sharing with three German girls, another perfect opportunity to test out my German! They were really nice and they were all travelling seperately. The only people we seemed to meet in Byron Bay seemed to be German. Han and I spent the afternoon lounging around the pool catching some rays, Han had a little mishap with a sunlounger. These sunloungers looked pretty suspect so we were sitting carefully on them - you had to make sure your weight was distributed evenly! Anywho, Hannah sat up to tie her bikini up and the bottom of her sunlounger gave way so bless her she was struggling to save her modesty whilst trying to get herself off the floor, I was trying to help but had to move slowly as I was very aware of the fact that mine was probably ready to give way too! Drama over and the sunbathing continued. That night we went to a bar called "Cheeky Monkeys" that does five dollar dinners, with two of the girls from our room and a friend of Hannah's from back home and her boyfriend. Dinner was really nice considering how cheap it was although we didn't hang around for a drink after as apparently you have to dance on the tables and I can't really say thats our thing! Although give me a vodka or five and ask me again! We headed down to a Beach Bar which was well known, they had a live band on there who were really good so we just stayed there then headed home around midnight.

Day two in Byron Bay and again we just chilled around the pool, a guy came round selling tickets for a bar crawl which we wouldn't usually be interested in but considering we didn't really know the good places to go out, and these guys avoided Cheeky Monkeys, we decided that for $25 it should be good - did I mention that you got pizza included with that?! We got talking to some more German people around the pool and learnt how to say "bring me to the lighthouse" there was a reason behind this! There was a lighthouse which is the most eastern tip of Australia but it was about a forty minute walk and one of the German guys had a car so we wanted to know how to say it! Went out that night on the bar crawl and had a really good night. They took us to four different bars and another hostel where we had pizza. We ended up in a bar called Woody's which was really good. I got talking to ANOTHER German guy who was one of the crew on the bar crawl who looked like John James from Big Brother - if you have ever seen it!

We went down to the beach the next day, was a lovely day and the beach is really nice. Spent pretty much the whole day there and I even ventured into the sea. We didn't go out this night as we had a bus to catch in the morning and needed to pack etc. Got our Greyhound bus the next morning at 7:45 and we arrived in Noosa at 13:00 ready to be collected to be taken to our next hostel.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb