School of The Air


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mt Isa
May 12th 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Camels on Westward Ho!Camels on Westward Ho!Camels on Westward Ho!

Which one do you think I should ride in the camel race?
Well, I have turned the big 40 and yes I did have a little cry about that. Not ready to be forty, where did those thirties go!Anyway, life goes on and now I'm 40 and one week old. We spent my birthday mustering, draughting and branding over 1000 head of cattle at Cannington Station, 170 kms east of Westward Ho. Not exactly what I had planned. I was spoilt by complete strangers and had a nice day. There is a BHP mine on Cannington and we had dinner in the miners mess. Different , but hey I like surprises! Pip took me up flying over Aboriginal Tribal grounds, which was amazing to see from the air. The fencing contractor at Cannington has 4 kids, so Clancy and Kass made some new playmates, who also do School of the air.
All the kids helped with the mustering, some on motorbikes, some on horse back, some in the plane.
It was a fun, busy few days.

Two days later we were off to Mt Isa for the School of the Air, Home Tutor Seminar, and Activities for the kids. Mt Isa SOTA, covers an area of 800,000 sq miles, So kids come
Mustering at Cannington StationMustering at Cannington StationMustering at Cannington Station

'Like Father, like daughters'
from the N.T., the gulf country, down as far as us. The girls have now put faces to the voices of the kids and teachers . They ran workshops for Govies and Home Tutors, and Friday was Sports Day. It was more like a family picnic day, very different to our sports carnivals at home. Lots of family events, dads verses kids tug of war etc..... There was even BEER for sale in the canteen. Kris was very happy to stay the entire day, the first time in 15 years.

We spent 5 days in Isa, Shopping in between workshops spending my birthday money, Got my, very much overdue, hair done and a visit to the beauty therapist, made me at least look not quite 40.
We decked the girls out in wrangler jeans, western shirts and boots, They work like jilleroos, they should look like one. I bought a beautiful leather hand bag with matching boots, of course.
We went out for dinner to The Buffalo Club with the Fencing family, Dave, Bernadette, Sam, Molly, Kate and Bow, who I think will become good friends, we all enjoy each others company. Kris and Dave have alot in common,
Smoko!Smoko!Smoko!

Taking a break after 4 hours of mustering!
both been ringers and horse lovers.

Sunday morning, Mothers Day, we dropped Clancy off at SOTA early. She has gone to Lawn Hill N.P. for a school camp. Canoeing and Absailing are a few off the things she is doing.
Kris, Kassidy and I went out for breakfast and then made the 4 hr journey home.
So, this week we are a 1 child family, very quiet.
I'm sure Clancy will have lots of stories to tell in the next entry.

Cheers, Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hard working GirlsHard working Girls
Hard working Girls

Meet "The Dusty Demons"
The Ringers!The Ringers!
The Ringers!

Traditional and Modern can work together!


1st June 2010

Go The Fencing Family
Hi Chris, Glad you enjoyed Cannington. My cousin is actually Bernadette and I love the write up you have done. Also the photo of Sam on his lovely horse is a keeper. Cheers, Zo

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb