The Largest City on Earth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mount Isa
October 30th 1989
Published: August 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mount IsaMount IsaMount Isa

The mine at Mount Isa
The journey from Katherine to Cairns was 30 odd hours, but this included a break at a mining town in the middle of no-where called Mount Isa. Apparently, Mount Isa is the largest city in the world in terms of area, covering some 41,000 km2.

I tried for a place on a tour of the town, but unfortunately (or fortunately depending on your point of view) it was fully booked. That came as a bit of a shock as I couldn't imagine that many people would bother going this far out of the way to look round a mining town. Rather than let that stop me, I found an underground museum and the Mining Corporation Exhibition Centre, and I learnt all about copper, zinc and lead mining and the contribution they make to the Australian economy. A day well spent I think!

The roads to and from Mount Isa were a bit on the rough side, to say the least, so the bus companies tend to use their oldest and most clapped out buses for that journey. It all made for a particularly rough ride, which made me wish that I wasn't too tight to pay for a flight (probably taking just three hours).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb