Skydive


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
November 16th 2006
Published: December 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We did it! After two aborted attempts in Lake Taupo we finally jumped out of a plane at 14,000 ft, harnessed to a professional skydiver. Although its a little more expensive to skydive in Australia, you can pretty much guarantee that the weather is right for a skydive at Mission Beach, just south of Cairns. Due to the generous leaving present that I was given from my former colleagues at Breast Cancer Campaign, I was able to have this "you've gotta do it once in your lifetime" experience. Thanks guys.

After a very short safety briefing, Tom and I were herded into a very pink, light aircraft, with our jumpmasters and another English guy who was diving out of an aeroplane for his second time. As I was the first in the aeroplane it also meant that I would be the last to fall out which left me with the shakes and a great view of Tom falling out of the plane. Its a little diconcerting to see one's partner fall from a plane and whilst typing now, my palms are sweating again at the memory of it all. Both Tom and I were quite calm in the plane and
Arrrgh!Arrrgh!Arrrgh!

No turning back!
just before we jumped out as the view of the reef and aquamarine waters was so fantastic it kept our mind of all things horrible. I am told that the sensation when you start falling from the plane is different for everyone- some people freeze, some people can't remember it as they experience a sensory overload, some people laugh, love it and embrace the adrenaline. For me, it was a 2 second wave of sheer terror which shot through my body before my brain took control to reassure me that I had a parachute on. For the next few seconds I was so flabbagasted by the speed and the landscape around me, I forgot what I was meant to be doing with my arms and to close my mouth! As I started to really enjoy the sensation the chute was pulled and a waive of relief swept over my body. All these emotions are evidenced in the video which I'm sure you'll have the opportunity to watch when we return home. After this point the sensation was just like parasailing which we 'd had a go at in Queenstown so I took the reins and moved the chute from side to side even had a go at stalling it. We landed on Mission beach which requires an extremely experienced jump master. One false move and we would have ended up in the trees or in the waves with all the jelly fish. Luckily the sand provided a soft landing as I landed on my bum! Phew.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Smiley RamseySmiley Ramsey
Smiley Ramsey

What does that smile hide?
Thumbs UpThumbs Up
Thumbs Up

Disguising pure fear!
Jazz HandsJazz Hands
Jazz Hands

Waving Tommy Goodbye!
That's The EdgeThat's The Edge
That's The Edge

What, we're going out there?
Is That The Ground?Is That The Ground?
Is That The Ground?

Shit, that is the ground!
That's ReliefThat's Relief
That's Relief

The opening


11th December 2006

Nutters!
Come and visit Dorset - we do things a little more sedately.
12th December 2006

Wicked!

Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 38; qc: 160; dbt: 0.2371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb