Nearly 18 years later...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mermaid Beach
May 3rd 2023
Published: May 12th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Originally booked for 2020, the trigger for this trip is my parents’ 70th birthdays and 50thwedding anniversary. Unfortunately due to restrictions & border uncertainty, the trip was postponed till 2023. A 2020 credit resulted in a 3 week extension for me on our original 6 week trip. The trip is 3 parts. Part 1 is a 3 week overland camping trip visiting Zambia, Malawi, Mozambique before entering South Africa to finish in Jo'burg. Part 2 is meeting Darryl in Jo'burg to transit to Cape Town for a week before a 3 week overland lodges trip visiting Namibia, Botswana, finishing in Victoria Falls. Part 3 is transiting to Jo'burg for the Dillon family holiday visiting Kruger NP, Victoria Falls & Hwange NP.

I haven't overland camped for 18 years so there's a bit of trepidation. Pulling my pack out of hibernation, it was little surprise that some zippers had seized. If memory serves me correctly, the pack was a 21st birthday from the parents. I celebrated that birthday waking up in Chengdu, China visiting the pandas and going to sleep in Xian near the Terracotta soldiers. The birthday cake that evening was eaten with chopsticks chased down by an honorary shot of local rice wine aka rocket fuel. During this trip, I’ll celebrate my 46th birthday. If things go to plan, I wake up after a night bush camping on an island & head off for day 2 of canoeing along the Zambezi River in Zambia – hopefully the hippos will steer clear of my canoe because there’s a pool & bar at the campsite that night – wonder if they do cocktails…

Like the pack seizing, I’m hoping my body can hack overlanding and camping to boot, because I sure enjoy the experiences afforded and memories created. Currently my laptop background is a slideshow of my East Africa photos from my last overland trip which finished in Zanzibar for Andrea & Enda’s wedding – who met on my first overland trip 3 years prior. It’s sobering to think nearly 18 years has passed since then. Life has happened. There has been travel in there, a home purchased, a partner found and daily life that happens along the way.

Stay tuned...

Advertisement



12th May 2023

Don't chase the hippo
Massive adventure. I can't even begin to imagine just how good this will be. Stay lucky
12th May 2023

Looking forward to the African adventures … Steer clear of those ‘hungry hippos’ too
12th May 2023

I remember cake and chopsticks!
Is it really that long ago that I shared a room with you? I should have gone to South Africa last year but had to cancel so am looking forward to reading about what I missed. Enjoy your time. Dot x
13th May 2023

My bag is packed
Just yesterday I was thinking 🧐 I wonder if Susan has started her blog. I logged into the site and no post. So imagine my delight to receive an email this morning that a blog had been posted. Thanks for sharing your journey. I’ve never done an overland adventure so I will enjoy experiencing one through your eyes, and heart

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb