Buy the Ticket, Take the Ride


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Malanda
May 28th 2015
Published: May 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Twenty years ago, I received a stuffed toy. Not a fancy toy, not even an expensive toy…just a stuffed toy. I named the toy Digit - he was a Gorilla. I would never have believed that Digit could be so influential on my life.



The toy got me asking questions and so it was at this young age, that I learnt about the Mountain Gorillas of Africa. Obsessed, I learnt everything I could about the primates and vowed to visit them one day. In my readings about the gorillas, I also learnt about Dian Fossey. Dian was a Primatologist who had a passion for gorillas and did everything in her power to protect them. I was inspired by her work and spent many hours watching the representation of her life through the movie Gorilla’s in the Mist. My stuffed gorilla was even named after Dian Fossey’s favourite wild Gorilla “Digit”, a beautiful silver back who was killed by poachers. Today, Digit and Dian are both buried next to one another in Karisoke, Rwanda.

In 43 days, we begin the adventure of a lifetime. Decades of dreaming and planning – finally it is happening! A sixth month adventure around the world with my one and only.


First stop – Africa.


Of course, a major highlight will be trekking to see the beautiful Mountain Gorillas in Africa. I am so excited to see them, and share the experience with Martin by my side.

Chloe


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb