Surfing at Surfers


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
February 9th 2007
Published: February 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This weekend me and my flatmates went for surfing. Living in Brisbane, we have no excuse for not surfing. Few of the World's best surf spots are right around Brisbane - Gold Coast & Sunshine Coast. We decided to go to Surfers Paradise (Gold Coast) for the weekend.

Neither of us know how to surf. I have tried surfing couple of times in the Netherlands - but its safe to classify me as a beginer. My friends Luca (Italy) and Gisseppe (Swiss) have never surfed before. We took the train down to the Surfers paradise (SP) saturday morning and headed straight to the beach. whats a great place to learn to surf - perfect water temperature, great waves, white sandy beaches. And lo-behold the scenery on the beach - according to Gissepe its a 'health hazard' for people with girlfriends back home 😉 I am kidding!

After a long surfing day and playing in the ocean we retreated to our backpackers hostel. Great place - nice pool, mini tennis court, clean rooms. After cleaning up we decided to go back in the city for some dinner and nightlife. After a HUGE meal at a Upscale Chinese restaurant I couldnt move. I was tired and I headed back to our hostel for some rest as we had surfing lessons next morning. My friends wanted to check the SP nightlife - but apparently after 1 beer they followed me to the hostel.

Sunday morning me and Gissepe tried some mini-tennis. Ofcourse, I beat him 6-2. He is still upset! He wants a rematch - I aint saying no. We better bet this time - why not make money, if I know I am gonna win. The second day surfing was much better. We all could stand up a bit on the boards and all. Fantastic experience. I am hooked on surfing - probably we will head down to the gold coast in the next 1-2 weeks. I want more!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mini - TennisMini - Tennis
Mini - Tennis

India beat Swiss 6-2


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb