I am officially a Bond Uni student


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Broadbeach
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Surf Life Saving Carnival, BroadbeachSurf Life Saving Carnival, BroadbeachSurf Life Saving Carnival, Broadbeach

this was the surf ski leg of the ironman competition, proffesional athletes were in attendance
G'day mates! I hope you all have had a nice week, full of fun and surprises. 😊

Alright, so I just finished my first week as an official Bond University student. Last week was definitely an adjustment, as I didn't really know anyone yet and I was still really missing the comforts of home. Slowly and surely though, I am "realizing where my feet are" here in Australia. It is a beautiful country, full of friendly people ready to share with you stories of their adventures in this country and abroad.

I have had a chance to meet some Aussies outside of bars/restaurants etc that I can actually build a relationship on, but much of my school is American. This is because Bond University is the only school in Australia that mirrors US school semesters. Therefore, approximately 1/2 of the student population is forreign, most coming from the US. At first, I found it annoying that I kept meeting Americans at school, but they are from all over the country. I can still experience a different culture/lifestyle by interacting with them.

I live in Meriton Apartments, my address being 2669 Gold Coast Highway, Broadbeach, QLD 4218, Australia. My
Burleigh HeadsBurleigh HeadsBurleigh Heads

view of Burleigh Head National Park
apartment is on the 12th floor, and is basically in a hotel. It is 20 min from campus, but only 1 block from the beach. At first, I found this annoying--having to take a bus to school and being so far from the "action." But I am getting used to it, and enjoying it now. It is definitely a growing experience- figuring out public transportation, managing my time, being prepared for a full day of school, etc. It'll be good for me.

Ok--so the first week was called "Bond Week" and was basically a chance for us all to interact with new people and orient ourselves with the campus. There were orientation events all week including bowling, tight n' bright party, aussie party, barbeque, and a hypnotist. I went to most of the events and was actually hypnotized in the show. I was sitting in the audience, I didn't volunteer, so it was definitely interesting. It's one of the best experiences I've had-- I always wondered if it worked or not and trust me it does! haha.

Besides the campus-sponsored events, I spent time with the fellow people in my program, and Brittany (who is one of my
Burleigh Heads BeachBurleigh Heads BeachBurleigh Heads Beach

Britt (from UD) and I after playing in the waves
good friends from UD that is also studying at Bond). I have found a good group of people to hang with--we have been exploring the area attractions including restaurants, bars, malls, and beaches. I am thoroughly enjoying living on the beach- I've watched a Surf Life Saving competition and surfing competition. I get to run along the beach and see beautiful view from area National Parks. It's right up my alley- full of adventure and surprises. Even though Australian culture is much like our own, they are much more open to other cultures and learning about other countries. Something I hope to bring back in myself.

Classes started this week- I have 4, which is the max that study-abroad students are able to take. They are sport-coaching, nutrition and health, human development, and mind body machines (an upper-philosophy class). They seem interesting, but I cannot say for sure what I think about them as I have only had one class. But I only have class Monday-Wednesday which leaves the rest of the week for travel and work (I am currently looking for a job).

I have not done any significant traveling as of yet but my immediate plans
Burleigh Heads Natl ParkBurleigh Heads Natl ParkBurleigh Heads Natl Park

some surfers heading out
are: Brisbane, Byron Bay, and Cairns. In between those larger trips I hope to visit area National Parks and beaches.

I have signed up for clubs and sand volleyball on campus so I hope to meet more people through that. But I have not surfed yet, nor have I seen any sharks. So that is a good thing haha. I hear the water is too warm for Great Whites in this area.

All in all, I am coming to love this country and am excited to immerse myself more into the culture!

As always, keep me updated! Thanks for the messages, I am thinking and praying for you all!

Love,
Ang




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bond Week Bond Week
Bond Week

one of the festivities was a pub crawl- this was the first of seven. definitely tired by the end!
Burleigh Natl ParkBurleigh Natl Park
Burleigh Natl Park

friends walking through the trail
Burleigh Natl ParkBurleigh Natl Park
Burleigh Natl Park

view of the coast from the mountain- one of those high-rises is my home
drivingdriving
driving

I had to get used to this! haha


25th January 2009

Bond, Uni Bond,
Great stuff Ang. Keep it up!
14th February 2009

Thanks for the blog!
Hey Ang, I am glad to see that you are safe and having fun. Live, laugh, love, and learn some too! I love you! ~Marie

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb