Back to work


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Emerald
January 29th 2008
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Life is starting to go back to normal. The flood waters peaked on wednesday of last week and slowly began receding. Since the railway tracks into Emerald are located higher than the bridge and escaped flooding, there was a train that would bring people into and out of town a few times a day as of Thursday. On Sunday, Megan and myself were excited...we planned a train trip into the big city of Emerald! We hadn't seen any friend's on that side of the river and hadn't seen the 'city lights' for a week! hahaha (Emerald has a population of about 13,000). Unfortunately, we found out that the main bridge going into town was open on Sunday. We weren't able to make the train trip, but we could drive ourselves. The water went below the bridge on Saturday and was inspected for safety reason and was given the o.k. on sunday midday.

This weekend was the Australia day long weekend. Due to the flooding all the celebrations have been postponed. I was looking forward to my first Australia day (hopefully they will be postponed to a weekend when I am still here). And because of the long weekend, Monday was a holiday and we only went back to work today (Tuesday). And let me tell you....after a flood, lots of people need their meds! There are 2 pharmacies in town, owned by the same man. One ended up in the flood path (the pharmacy I am not working at). They have been working for days to clean everything and it should be opening next week. The pharmacy I work at barely escaped the water. Therefore, we are the only pharmacy open right now. This means: 700 prescriptions in my 9 to 5 shift That's 700 scripts with 3 (sometimes 4) people working. Normally we have 2 people working and do 250. What does this mean?? My feet hurt and I'm tired! But the time off was getting boring, so I'm glad to be at work. We would have liked to do more on our week off, but it wasn't worth the risk of being trapped somewhere in a flood.

My time here is about half up and I have a busy few weeks left. A girl's weekend in Rockhampton, a weekend at Airlie Beach (in the Great Barrier Reef) and a small-town-bus-tour Hen's night (aka stagette).

Hope all is well at home!

Meagan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb