Rain rain go away..


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Emerald
January 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For those you have been to Emerald, or who know the area, you won't believe me when I say it's been raining, and raining and raining and raining. Emerald is usually very dry and has been in drought for years. But in the last 6 days it's been storming and raining and flooding (I'll put a few pictures on facebook)

Last week at work was pretty good, fairly busy and I learned a lot. On friday night, I knew Megan had planned a small bbq with a few friends. I didn't know any details. It ended up being a surprise bbq for me (the few people I know in town showed up as a surprise). I went out to the dam (aka a lake about 10 minutes from town) to go water skiing on saturday during the day. It started to rain at the end of the day on saturday and hasn't stopped since. At the beginning of the week, they were forcasting that it would be cloudy/raining all week. Now it's friday and there's no end in site. The dam was only at 12% of full capacity. Rumours now are that it's between 50-70% full and the water may run over the dam for the first time since 1990. It apparently hasn't rained like this in 18 years. And it had to be when I was out to visit. I don't think I've seen the sun since I came to emerald (and i'm getting pretty upset about it). All the roads going into or out of Emerald are flooded over. Which means nobody is coming to the pharmacy for meds...and i've been standing around for 2 days, bored. Shane hasn't been to work in 2 days. He works at the coal mines which are closed because it is too wet. Our yard is one of the lowest lying yards in the area and we've had pumps going to get rid of the water. We have to conserve water and it doesn't drain properly from the sinks/showers. We've got a truck full of sand and are starting to sandbag the yard as well. So it's been interesting to say the least. I'm just glad we got our phone/internet connection back up (wasn't working for a while).

If anybody wants to call me (i welcome all phone calls!) to dial from canada:

011 61 07 4987 4640

I was hoping to go out to the dam this weekend to go skiing, but the only way i'm going is to watch the water flood over the actually dammed area (all the towns people are going..LOL)

I'm about to go for a drive to check out the water and then go for supper with a few coworkers!

Meagan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb