Fruit Pickin?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cardwell
May 17th 2006
Published: May 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, lot's to update for this entry! On Friday evening, as the girls and I were preparing for a night out, I received a phone call that I had a job set up for me in the small little town, well, actually it's more like a Hamlet, of Cardwell. I was so excited, that I decided to stay home and pack, and well, I was so excited that I even packed the girls' bags too. So, the next day, I woke up, said my goodbyes to Nicole and Tenille, and set out to Cardwell on the greyhound. I sat with a really nice guy from Ireland, so the three hour trip wasn't at all boring.

I arrived, only to realise the smallness of the town I would be living in for up to a month or so. I settled myself in quite quickly though. I met a really cool guy named Joachim from Norway who I hung out with on the first day, which was comforting, seeing how I had to leave Nicole and Tenille behind. The next Sunday, I was relieved to hear that there were two more jobs available, so naturally, I hopped up from the couch and called Nicole to let her know. Nicole and Tenille arrived at 6 pm on Sunday evening. We have had so much fun here, meeting people from Norway, Finnland, Sweeden, Korea, and ofcourse lots from Oz and Canada.

Monday was my first day on the job. Joachim and I had to help a guy sand his boat from 7 AM until 4 pm. It was exausting, I'm not gonna lie. I did a mighty nice job of sanding though, I must say, and it was nice to be able to work with my friend. Yesterday, and then once again today, I went sweet-potato planting with Tenielle and Nicole, which was much easier. Tenielle and I had so much fun, played around, and didn't take it too seriously. To tell you the truth, we took a break every five minutes, which were all well deserved breaks at that! The sun also came out at intervals in the day on Tuesday, and I am embarrased to write, that even though I knew about the lack of ozone here, I left my sunscreen back at the hostel, so I'm burnt. Apparantly a couple more burns like this, and I could get skin cancer, so today I slapped on the SPF 50, and alot of people have told me that my burn is getting better.

I was very confused as to why I have not been able to sleep the last couple of nights. I mean, I wake up so early, and when it's time to go to sleep, I can't, at least not till about 3 or 4 in the morning. Today, it hit me! I drink about five or six cups of tea each night, partly because it's free, but also because I'm addicted to hot drinks, and the tea has caffeine in it! Hahaha, what a silly person I am. Well, only tea in the morning for me from now on.

Dorothy, our good friend from Canada, just called us from Cairns and we're hoping to meet up with her soon. The reception on my phone is not very good up here, so anyone wanting to reach me may call me on Nicole's phone at:

04 3228 1786

Ofcourse you have to dial the Canadian (or german) country code first, but I would love to hear from any of you! Miss you tons!

Marie 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb